We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, quaint, and terrific service all in one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Capri

Isle of Capri
1028 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10065-8502 (Upper East Side)
212-758-1828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #272 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $45 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious, quaint, and terrific service all in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

New York is full of marvelous restaurants, and this is another one. Traditional, old world Italian. We ate downstairs which was nice and cozy. Food was delicious for all 5 of us, and with wine, dessert, and full meals we spent about $200 - not bad for New York. Off the beaten path over by the East River and the Roosevelt Island Tram. A real treat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    25
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Treated like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A friend who lives in the neighborhood took us to this place he has been going to for 30 years. From the moment we walked in to the time we left, we were treated like part of the owners big Italian family. Food was authentic and fresh. Can't wait to go back next time I'm in NYC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Traditional excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A colleague told me his parents have dined here for 30 years, and knowing restaurant survival in Manhattan means something, I had to try it. From the '07 brunello, to the veal and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have eaten here several times while visiting relatives in the city, and it is excellent... The service is great, as is the food... This restaurant has a lot of charm as well... The last time we were there, Joan Rivers was eating there with a friend, so you never know who you might see in this place... Do yourself a favor, and check it out for yourselves... You will not be disappointed...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Old Time Charm, Welcoming Host, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is one of those neighborhood gems that conveys a warm feeling of hospitality as soon as you enter. The place was packed on a recent Tuesday evening but the host gives you a welcoming smile that shows their appreciation that you're there. The four of us were seated quickly and we started off with a hot antipasto for the table. Shrimps, baked clams, grilled peppers, olives and eggplant were all quickly swept up with the accompanying warm bread. My plate-filling eggplant Parmigiana entre was the best I've ever had! My wife and her friend had the lamb chop special which included 8 chops. She said they were succulent and delicious as were the side of spinach and potato. Service was pleasant, helpful and professional. Our cappucinos and cafe's were hot and tasty. This family run business has been here for more than 50 yers and it keeps drawing diners who quickly become fans and they bring others. The several rooms have loads of character and after leaving you get the sense you've just left a friend's house. Prices were very reasonable. Try it, You'll love it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Capri also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Isle of Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.