We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are not a service island at NYC's Island Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island

Island
1305 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)
(212) 996-1200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,769 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“You are not a service island at NYC's Island Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great eating outside on Madison Ave.

I think most of the clients here locals. That speaks to a good place.

The staff is friendly. the food is great, the bar drinks are good, and sitting outside on a summer evening is wonderful.

The menu has seafood, pasta, and steaks. The food arrives in a reasonable amount of time.

So next time you are in NYC, eat at Island's where the locals, and no client is an island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    33
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great staff makes this place a favorite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Island is one of my favorite restaurants. It's a little pricey but the friendly staff make it so welcoming I keep returning. It has a very relaxing vibe and is a true neighborhood spot.
I see lots of people from the area dining solo and that says something. I've always felt like I was dining with friends..even if by myself.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I Want to Go Back - again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

While staying at Hotel Wales next door I ate here four times in four days! There are other highly rated restaurants nearby but Island just hit the spot with me. The bistro-like menu is simple but sophisticated and t he food is prepared with restraint. I loved the curry chicken salad, steamed mussels, and coconut crusted trout. The clientele seems to include nearby residents and the prices -by NYC standards - are reasonable. The wine list is also good.
They also have a few outdoor tables at the front. Host, bartender and servers all charming.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Island is the kind of place where denizens of New York's Upper East Side love to hang out. They return regularly, and with good reason. Tucked away in Carnegie Hill on Madison Avenue in a friendly and non-stuffy setting. You feel like you're on vacation on your favorite summer place, year-round. The staff is wonderful and welcoming, the cuisine is always what you would want to have prepared if you were cooking (or catering!) at home for a dinner party, and the crowd is convivial. If you want fancy 4-star food and fussiness, this isn't the place for you. If you want to feel like you're part of the UES vibe, and have a great and reasonably-priced meal, come on in and hang out for the evening. I've gone back time and time again. The mussels are a bit too spicy for me, but all the other dishes are just right. Tonight the crabcake on a bed of pureed spinach was sublime.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small and Exquisite - Food and wine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Tucked away in the upper reaches of Madison Avenue, Island does not glitter or stand out in the neighborhood environment. But once you enter, you discover an intimate atmosphere with room enough at and between the tables so you don't feel squashed. The menu is small, but with attractive choices and interesting accompaniments. The wine list is not huge but the simple red we chose went quickly and with great pleasure. Rolls were exceptional. We all had fish - tuna was well prepared, beans crisp and full of flavor - and the young lady was informed and intelligent and attentive.

But the desserts! I'm almost tempted to recommend starting with dessert. Maine blueberry crumble - to die for. Applie cinnamon tart with ice cream -breath-taking. I had donuts and caramel. 10 minutes before they appeared at my place, those donuts did not exist. Warm, crisp on the outside, moist, and wonderful flavor. I didn't use the caramel dip, the flavor itself was so rich. And affordable. We were in the neighborhood for an event - but this is worth a trip on its own merits.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.