We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viet Nam in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Colonial

Le Colonial
149 E 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)
+1 212-752-0808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Colonial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #938 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Lexington Ave
Transit: E to 53rd/Lexington 4, 5, 6, N, R to 59th Street
Description: Le Colonial is a truly delightful culinary experience. Like stepping into French Colonial Southeast Asia, this two-story restaurant, designed by Greg Jordan, consists of a main dining room with louvered wall panels, colorful tile floors, and vintage photos of Vietnam. Upstairs is an elegant, but lively, lounge serving a full dinner or just appetizers and cocktails. The lounge serves as an ideal setting for private parties and business dinners. Chef Ron Hsu serves an authentic Vietnamese menu with an emphasis on fresh seafood, meats, and vegetables.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Viet Nam in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Le Colonial brings the old Viet Nam of the French colonial era to New York City. The setting includes palm trees and has a laid back atmosphere. I ordered a fish dinner that was fried whole, including the head. The staff then filleted it and placed it back in its body, which took some skill. It was delicious and quite unique. The evening was totally unrushed and enjoyable. Emerging on the streets of midtown NYC popped the bubble and brought us back to modern reality, but the memories still remain.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    76
    24
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I enjoyed an evening here with friends we tried several things on the menu that were all amazing. The ambiance was wonderful. The waiters and other workers were extremely nice. I would recommend and I would also return. The green tea crepe was delightful!!! Thanks so much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vietnamese in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Amazing ambience created through music and decor in both the dining room & intimate lounge bar. Unique Vietnamese flavours which cannot be tasted elsewhere in New York. Interesting cocktail list & a vast array of the world's best wines. Fine dining at its finest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Close to home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Liked it for a couple of reasons- it was close to our hotel - within walking distance and food was good. Very tasty fish in banana leaf with noodles was my choice & I was not disappointed. Service was good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Only the shadow of what it once was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Small portions, food that arrives cold,the most approximating service with waiters whom seem to have just all landed in the food industry by accident and treat customers as cattle, old Saigon is not what it used to be when this hot spot was one of the trendiest in the UES... Only thing that remains is overpriced, aging decor that has not changed in decades and looks like a cheap Ikea version of a generic tropical brasserie-a bizarre bad combo already...Avoid and opt for nah Trang instead.!..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Le Colonial, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was with great surprise and sadness that we discovered your comments regarding your recent experience in our French-Vietnamese iconic restaurant.

We would like very much to understand the reasons of your disappointment and use your constructive review in order to be able to satisfy you upon your next visit, as it is obvious that the points that you outlined are not acceptable, and unusual to read.
Would you accept, i would be very delighted to contact you in person to receive further information.

We pride ourselves of having a very nice Vietnamese atmosphere, with an acclaimed food quality, and friendly and professional staffs.

I can assure you that we only want to deserve your confidence again, and would be pleased to welcoming you back again at our restaurant.

Best regards,

Edgar Vaudeville
edgar@lecolonialnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Colonial also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.