We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good doughnuts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doughnut Plant

Doughnut Plant
379 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)
(212) 505-3700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good doughnuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I ordered tres leches cake($3.25) for me, creme brulee ($3.50) and vanilla bean yeast ($3) <which was supposedly vanilla bean with filling but the cashier probably didn't hear the "filling" part>. Tres Leches was good, it was like a cake in doughnut shape. Not too sweet, just enough for my taste :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    92
    31
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Best Donut EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

So we stumbled on this place by accident and thank goodness that we did!!! It is pricey, yes, but worth every penny and then some. The one that I went to bed planning thinking about and woke up anticipating is the creme brûlée donut. It is tiny, so savor every crunchy topped, creamy filled bite and then go back for more. The PB&J one was wonderful and the blackout, just ok, but that is because I am not a huge chocolate fan. Really, you can't go wrong with any choice, besides the choice not to get a creme brûlée with ever order.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Creative Doughnut-ery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stopped by here for a mid-afternoon snack. It is a bit out of the way, but totally worth it. Lots of super-creative flavors to choose from. Our favorite was the strawberry cake doughnut - delicious! Or if you prefer your doughnuts light and fluffy, go for a yeast doughnut - we had the Meyer Lemon :)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best doughnuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A very small shop, little chance to have a seat, in fact we didn't, but honestly, the best doughnuts we've ever eaten. So many different tastes, that it's very hard to choose, but they are all fantastic!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy <3 <3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place is within a <15 minute from Chinatown. Its close by a bagel spot and other stores. Picked up some doughnuts in March, after checking out doughnut plant in 23rd between 7th & 8th (I think). The place really had such a heating problem. Yes, it was cold outside still, but geez. The temperature inside, the staff says can't do anything about it. I mean it fogged up my glasses, and had to take off my jacket to purchase donuts. It was really sweltering of heat, and yummy doughnuts in there. Despite that though, the douhgnuts are yummy. Bought >$50 worth of goods for me, my family, and co-workers. The doughnuts I go for are the tres leches, and crème brûlée donuts. So, so, so yummy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doughnut Plant also viewed

 

Been to Doughnut Plant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doughnut Plant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.