We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was tasty but we thought it was going to be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Homestead Steakhouse

Old Homestead Steakhouse
56 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)
(212) 242-9040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Homestead Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,646 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Between 14th and 15th Streets
Transit: The A, C, E and L Subway Lines, to the 8th and 14th Street Stops
Description: Classic Gotham Steakhouse located in the ultra chic Meat Packing District, established in 1868. The restaurant maintains it's strong relationships with their butchers, allowing them to get their first pick of beef. Nothing but prime dry aged meat - always has been and always will be. Winner of the 2006 Wine Spectator Award. Lobsters ranging in sizes from 4 - 13 lbs., sushi grade tuna, sockeye salmon, Colossal crab meat and shrimp so big they are referred to as small bananas.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It was tasty but we thought it was going to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The chef's special bread was very good
The steak was okay/good - I take part of the blame for my food not being GREAT I guess- I made a mistake of asking for Bearnaise sauce instead of whatever sauce came with the Filet (I had never heard of it) and then my food was pretty dry. We are carnivores so while we enjoyed the meal - it wasn't the best steakhouse we had never been to on vacation, or compared to the places in Boston we frequent.

I also think for the price the atmosphere could have been a little swankier. But I know that's part of NY restaurants things are pretty small.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    140
    75
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“two stars: Excellent cooking, worth a detour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Historic yet lives up to its traditions. An authentic steakhouse with great tasting and tender dinners. I would say that it doesn't quite reach the level of that world-class New York steakhouse that I won't mention in this review, but that doesn't detract from a solidly enjoyable meal.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best Steak House in NY??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Have been using the Old Homestead for 12+ years. It just gets better. Had two dinners there last week, both solo. Service was great, the atmosphere is always convivial and the steak, well it's close to perfect. Had the fillet mignon the first night and the NY sirloin the second. Both incredible. Succulent, tasty and satisfying. Had the chilli calamari as a starter, quite amazing but a big portion, so don't spoli the main course. Prices very reasonable given the quality. A 'must' when in NY.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gem in the Meatpacking District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Old Homestead is an old-school New York City steakhouse. It is not Peter Luger's, but it does compare favorably with Keen's, and I believe is better than Wolfgang's. The atmosphere is charged with testosterone as are many steakhouses, the wine list is fairly good, and the service is excellent. We ordered a rare-to-medium-rare porterhouse for 2. The flavor was excellent with just the right amount of char on the outside and blood on the inside. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Old Homestead in the meatpacking district is a staple in NYC. Every local knows it and most visitors have heard about it and want to go. It has the best steak in the city hands down. Atmosphere is great.

It's not unusual to be dining nest to a table full of Knicks players, Giants or celebrities. It's not unusual to be grabbing a bite and look over at the next table to see Nicole Ritchie, Justin Timberlake, Jessica Biel or R.E.M. chowing down. This makes the people watching almost as good as the food.

I've know the owners for years as I was friends with the owner Greg Sherry's daughter. It has never wavered in it's exemplary service or cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Homestead Steakhouse also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Old Homestead Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Homestead Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.