We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Homestead Steakhouse

Old Homestead Steakhouse
56 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)
(212) 242-9040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Homestead Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,846 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Between 14th and 15th Streets
Transit: The A, C, E and L Subway Lines, to the 8th and 14th Street Stops
Description: Classic Gotham Steakhouse located in the ultra chic Meat Packing District, established in 1868. The restaurant maintains it's strong relationships with their butchers, allowing them to get their first pick of beef. Nothing but prime dry aged meat - always has been and always will be. Winner of the 2006 Wine Spectator Award. Lobsters ranging in sizes from 4 - 13 lbs., sushi grade tuna, sockeye salmon, Colossal crab meat and shrimp so big they are referred to as small bananas.
Annandale, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Looking forward to a night in the City with friends. Made reservations for our group of seven. We arrived on time and were seated promptly. And the service went downhill from there. There were long gaps between visits from waiter....drinks were forgotten or delivered incorrectly, sides were forgotten, very slow service. Steaks and sides were good, but were not hot (temperature.) We complained and they comped us our drink bill. Nice gesture, but we really just wanted a good meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    159
    85
    40
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food, mediocre service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've been to the Old Homestead for dinner at least a dozen times. The place is always full of energetic guests, and the ambiance is perfect for a date or a group. Ask to be seated toward th back of house.

These guys serve some of the best steaks in NYC!! The bone in filet mignon is absolute perfection, and the sides are also good (sauteed mushrooms, creamed spinach, etc.)

The service, howeever, for a place with old time waiters, is not on par with other top line NY steakhouses. Drinks come late, items are forgotten. While the service is fine, it just isn't what you expect for a dinner costing $100 per head (appetizer/salad, steak dinner, shared sides, and 1 glass of wine).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better for Dinner, NOT lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been to the Old Homestead many times, for dinner. Some of the best steaks! I would not recommend going for lunch. They don't use the old time career waiters at lunch time and it shows.
Was not happy with the burger specials. Was no where close to how I ordered it. Medium should be pink correct? The waiter says yes. We got it raw.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another Great New York City Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner here with a friend. Parking is a little bit of a challenge but circled the block and found a spot in the street. The restaurant had multiple floors we sat on the second. It's like a long hall way with tables on the sides. I had the 20oz Kobe Burger. It was excellant. One of the best burgers I have ever had. It does come plain with side of ketchup and mustard on side. My advise is get it cooked medium well. Had mine just medium and it was what I consider medium rare. Think the price is about average. It's expensive but worth the cost I think. The service was good as well. Beware they don't take Discover Card had to use my debit card. Overall a great experiance and I would go back but order a smaller burger next time 20oz is a lot of beef

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Greeted on the way OUT of the restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch, attracted by the delicious looking picture outside featuring the sliders lunch special. Upon first look it appears to be a classy, high end restaurant and it definitely tries to be so. We were disappointed in each and every staff member that we encountered from the hostess to the waiters. I have never encountered such an indifferent waitstaff before in my life, especially in a "high end" estabishment. We never saw our waiter after we placed our order. We ordered our lunch, salads, which came quickly. The presentation was good and the wine we ordered was very good, but they can't really get credit for Argentina's quality wines. The salads were small - about a cup and a half) and mainly lettuce, dry - too little dressing, and really short on the pricy toppings (goat cheese, nuts, bacon, etc) which give it the flavor and value you expect. The waiter never came to check to see how we liked our dishes and ultimately we had to find someone, another staff member, so we could get our check to leave. Finally when we were on the way out someone acknowledged us, the hostess smiled and said "thank you." Very disappointing and not worth the money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Homestead Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Old Homestead Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Homestead Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.