We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calle Ocho

Calle Ocho
45 W. 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-5130 (Upper West Side)
(212) 873-5025
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Calle Ocho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #586 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $80
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Between Columbus and Central Park West
Transit: 1 at 79th Street and Broadway and B & C at 81st Street and Central Park West.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ate here during restaurant week. Great food, great value. The waitress was very accommodating with expediting our bill, as we were running late for a show.



  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    105
    29
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The service was amazing. Our water glass was never empty which was very much appreciated in the heat. The sangria was yummy and the food was really tasty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Novel flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I equivocally reviewed the hotel (The Excelsior) in which this restaurant is located, but the restaurant is much better than its location. The flavours and the presentation are novel South American fusion cooking (does this style exist? it does here!) In restaurants the food is everything. Here you get a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful Cuban Food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, terrific food and service. We had Red Snapper ceviche, Paella and strip bass - very tasty and full of flavor! Desert was a delicious way to end the evening, Mango Flan was the best we've had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have visited this nice restaurant in june 2012 and we were afraid cause we are a little diffident on restaurants inside hotels. ... But this was absolutely great! Food fusion-latin inspired full of taste and lots of choices.... Sunday we also enjoyed free sangria that was awsome!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Ocho also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Calle Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calle Ocho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.