We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Four Seasons Restaurant

The Four Seasons Restaurant
99 East 52nd Street, Between Park and Lexington Avenues, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)
(212) 754-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Four Seasons Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #359 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between Park and Lexington Avenues
Transit: 6 train to 51st Street E, M trains to Lexington Ave/53rd Street 4, 5, 6, N, Q, R to 59th Street / Lexington Ave
Description: The Grill Room at The Four Seasons Restaurant is truly a New York phenomenon. Attracting New Yorkers for generations, it's played host to every major social event from JFK's 45th birthday party to Manhattan's last Grammy Awards celebration. Open Monday through Friday, the Grill Room is home to the original New York "Power Lunch." At night the Grill caters to those interested in flavorful cocktails and a bite to eat within Phillip Johnson's one-of-a-kind design.
long island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had dinner in the Pool Room at the Four Seasons before we went to the theatre..I had never been there before and it was a very nice experience..The staff was very attentive and our main server who took the order was absolutely great..They got the food out so we were able to make the show..We had a prix fixe menu which was vey nice appetizer, entree and dessert..Everything was great..I would definitely go there again. Wonderful night...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    156
    49
    27
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bring in the clowns”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Adequate food but laughable service. Although at least 10 people were involved, we had to pour our own wine. Soufflés ,ordered before the meal, arrived with dessert menus for those who had not yet ordered dessert. but that's okay because they never brought the dessert. But that's okay because they still charged for it. SAVE YOUR MONEY.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Fun....Buzzy, casual, and best of all the Superb service, yummy lobster pasta, and right off the lobby for Holiday people watching.... worth the price of admission

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Still Good After All These Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

First dined here in the early 1970's and it is a New York institution. I have eaten here many times over the years and have always enjoyed it, although service can be a bit stuffy. My most recent visit was with friends with whom I saw the play Red and who weren't aware of Rothko's paintings which were commissioned by the restaurant but never hung. In any event, we dined here Thanksgiving weekend and the food was just as outstanding, as I remembered it. We dined in the pool room, which is a stunning picture of mid-century modern, yet very comfortable. The wine list is terrific (although a bit pricey, but carefully selected with outstanding vinters and vintages). Again, the waitstaff started out a bit stuffy, but warmed up through our dinner, and by the end of dinner, we really enjoyed them tremendously (I think part of the attitude is in response to many of the diners who eat there). In any event, a perfect evening at a perfect restaurant - I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect food and incredible room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This old perfect high standing restaurant on 52 Street, has the most fantastic rooms in New York city when it comes to restaurants. The menu is change seasonably as are the uniforms of the staff and the settings. However the food and service remain impeccable, perfectly cooked and served and always most delicious.
This is one of my most favorite places in the World and has been always a great treat for me for decades. Do try it, you will never regret it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Four Seasons Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Four Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Four Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.