We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and refined excellence, Danny Meyer's message delivered.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Square Cafe

Union Square Cafe
21 East 16th St., New York City, NY 10003 (Manhattan)
(212) 243-4020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Square Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 5th Ave. and Union Square W.
Transit: Take the 4, 5, 6, N, R or L subway trains to the 14th Street/Union Square stop.
Yountville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hospitality and refined excellence, Danny Meyer's message delivered.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

From the moment we walked through the front door, hospitality plus was experienced.
Mama was our server and she embraced us with a level of service that surpassed our expectations! I've read Danny Meyer's "setting the table", so I had expectations and a level of anticipated relaxation prior to arriving.
We ordered a bottle of Truchard Vineyard's Pinot Noir to accompany our meal... Perfect.
As we paid for our meal, all I could think was, I just want to Hug Mama.
Thank you for such a memorable experience!
I work at Round Pond Estate in the Napa Valley, too experience this level of experience in New York with it's hurried life style made me feel as if it was "Home away from Home".

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    390
    184
    76
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great brunch/lunch site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

whether in the village or wandering around union square, the cafe continues to be one of the best places to lunch, brunch or enjoy a drink and bar food. i havent been to dinner there, but the brunch was exceptional and the service outstanding. was a thoroughly pleasant experience, and reasonably priced. you wont go wrong here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Still going strong...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We managed to get a table for lunch without booking and without waiting, though the restaurant was pretty much packed on a Monday. We had a wonderful tuna crudo with capers and lemon and excellent carpaccio to start, followed by their classic Union Sq burger and an order of Mezzi Pacheri - a great pasta dish with brussels sprouts and guanciale. Flawlessly prepared and charmingly served by a waitress who wisely advised a half portion of pasta as servings were generous. All really good quality, fabulous bread basket, divine french fries, only sorry we couldn't manage dessert... Utterly reliable place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary in NYC and had been referred to go to Union Square Cafe for dinner. The ambiance, and the menu was out of this world. We had an amazing server whose name was Etelka and she assisted us with our selection. I chose the lamb chops with spinach with potatoes gratin, and my wife had the prosciutto wrapped scallops with side orders of roasted squash and anson mills polenta. Without a doubt, this was one of the finest meals we have ever had and we have been to many parts of the world throughout the States and Europe. I highly recommend this fabulous spot, you will walk away with wonderful memories and the dining experience will last a lifetime.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Still one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We hadn’t been back to the USC for a few years, but with theater tickets in the area, we decided to try it again. This is still one of the top restaurants in the city for the money. And don’t let its perennial popularity on various review sites make you think it’s too expensive. We checked out several restaurants in the Union Square area, and the USC was as or less expensive than several others. The hallmark service remains casually assured. You want the vegetables on the other entre on yours? Not a blink of an eye. Of course. The fritto misto appetizer (with a few fried oysters and calamari) was delicious. Many wines by the glass for pre-theater goers, with a couple at very reasonable prices. I had pork cheeks. Delicious. Wife had grilled swordfish. Overall, the USC maintains its high and consistent level of food and service – at a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Square Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Union Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Square Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.