We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Square Cafe

Union Square Cafe
21 East 16th St., New York City, NY 10003 (Manhattan)
(212) 243-4020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Square Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 5th Ave. and Union Square W.
Transit: Take the 4, 5, 6, N, R or L subway trains to the 14th Street/Union Square stop.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good food, but a bit overpriced. this resturant was reccomended to us and we were advised to make an advance booking which is reccomended.

The vibe in the resturant is excellant, and the qulaity of food is good. Service was a bit slow, but the resturant was packed. It was a bit pricey,but the food was definitly worth it

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    205
    85
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have been to this restaurant twice in two different trips. Everything about this restaurant is good. Service is exceptional. Food is good. Each time we go there we see a different menu. And each time we're never disappointed. Definitely recommendable to anybody visiting the Union Square area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Gnocchi is a Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We get to NYC city about three or four times a year and never miss a trip without having a meal at the Union Square Café. In our opinion it one of the best eateries in NYC. My wife and I shared a couple of Washington State and Rhode Island oysters to start, which were good but small, and frankly can’t compete with Gulf Coast oysters. This time I ordered the Halibut and my wife ordered the Fluke. I am a gnocchi lover, and will order it almost every time I see it on the menu, and this time was no exception. I ordered a small plate for my wife and I to share. Most often gnocchi is prepared with potatoes, but the chef here prepares gnocchi using ricotta cheese, something my mother used to make and my wife now makes. The result of which makes it a very light pasta, that is so light that it is incredible that it doesn’t fall apart in the water when boiled. The chef has won many awards for this treat and the recipe remains a secret. If you elect to try the Union Square Café, no matter what your choice of entrée, don’t miss the opportunity to share some of the gnocchi. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, US
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Truly First Class Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I were treated to an exceptional lunch matched with outstanding service at Union Square Cafe on June 2nd. Unknown to the staff until after we were seated, we were shown to one of the best tables in the house where we celebrated our anniversary.

The presentation of the food, as well as the taste of it, was superb. My husband ordered the French Toast, while I selected the Grilled Halibut. To our great delight and never expecting it, the chef wrote 'Happy Anniversary' around the edge of the dessert plate which hosted the Banana Pretzel Tart.

We highly recommend Union Square Cafe whenever your travels take you to New York City. It's simply the Best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dinning at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

One of the best. Restaurants in New York everything is fresh and the service could not be better.I entertain people from all over the world and this is always a place they enjoy.Always packed so make sure to call in advance

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Square Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Union Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Square Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.