We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location for a Romantic Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One if by Land, Two if by Sea

One if by Land, Two if by Sea
17 Barrow St, New York City, NY 10014-3823 (West Village)
212-228-0822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
One if by Land, Two if by Sea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,035 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: b/w 7th Ave. and West 4th
Transit: 1 at Christopher Street/Sheridan Square. A, B, C, D, E, F, M at West 4th. See our website for detailed directions.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for a Romantic Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myself and my husband recently got married in NYC and we had our reception at One if by Land, Two if by Sea. The general manager Rosanne was so helpful and lovely and her staff were 2nd to none. The service is impeccable and the staff really made our night the best ever. The Food is out of this world (especially the beef wellington, duo of pork and scallops). This was an old carriage house so the backdrop was simply stunning. I wish I could do it all over again. I would highly, highly recommend this venue for a wedding, event or just a romantic meal for two. Thank you to all the staff who made our special day,even more special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    128
    68
    29
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing food experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Every dish was a masterpiece! Wonderful atmosphere, great experience, great service. Highly recommendable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“You fall in Love with this eatery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

For many years, we fly from Toronto to NYC to have an incomparable meal here. True, the tables are a tad tight for intimate conversation, but who cares when it is truly gourmet! You are greeted like you are their guest, not just another person to feed...the menu is eclectic....the wine menu is comfortable . Then , your taste buds begin to explode....who said this was a gastronomic orgasm! And, all in an ambience that is simply wonderful!. And last but certainly not least, the service is so professional. When you leave, you know it was something special!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate here for our anniversary in October 2013. Our taxi driver couldnt find Barrow st but luckily we took our nyc map with us and didnt have far to walk once he'd dropped us off.
There was a pianist playing as we walked in and it immediately felt like we had walked into a little restaurant in Florence, Italy. The menu was fixed price but with about 5 choices for each course.
The wine was around $65 a bottle. The food was out of this world. I had the New York strip steak, cooked to perfection, one of the best steaks I've ever had. My husband went for the speciality 'Beef Wellington' which was fantastic apparently. As we left, the pianist had been joined by a trumpet player and they were playing some fantastic jazz that, if we weren't so tired, we would have sat at the bar and listened to. I would definitely recommend this restaurant but our meal for 2 was almost $400 so special occasions only!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“disappointing night out in new york”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

we had been recommended to visit this restaurant .we were disappointed with our experience there,the food was very poor in quality and quantity.we were constantly interupted and pestered by the waiter and when we asked for some time between courses we were ignored.we feel that we were rushed by the staff and we were shocked at the price compared with the good quality of food we receive at restaurants in the uk.at a nominal cost compared to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One if by Land, Two if by Sea also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to One if by Land, Two if by Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One if by Land, Two if by Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.