We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daniel

Daniel
60 E. 65th St., New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)
(212) 288-0033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Daniel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 68th Street stop, #6 Train.
Description: Experience The Lounge at DANIEL, another side of Chef Daniel Boulud’s renowned Manhattan restaurant. Equally as distinctive as the main dining room, The Lounge offers the same service and cuisine as our main dining room. Complete prix-fixe and tasting menus are available, along with à la carte options not available in our dining room. Savor an imitable fine dining experience or drop in for an appetizer, cocktail, or a late night dessert with Champagne.
NYC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“beyond expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is definitely one of the best restaurants I'd ever been. Both meal and service were well beyond the best expectations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    191
    81
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,618 reviews 2,618 reviews
1,479 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 344 cities Reviews in 344 cities
1,160 helpful votes 1,160 helpful votes
“A very special restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I will never forget the generosity of Daniel. First met him many years ago when he was younger (as we all were) and it was so obvious that he was a chef of immense talent and creativity.
On a later trip I wrote and said my wife and I were having a special anniversary and we had friends from Australia with us who were similarly celebrating a major anniversary.
Daniel prepared a special degustation meal that showed his exceptional talent supported by a very professional team and it was a night that is etched in our memories forever.
We constantly talk about it and I think New York is fortunate to have a chef of such extraordinary talent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good but not Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Le Bernardin has set a new standard of food quality and service. I was somehow expecting the same if not even more from Daniel.

I have asked to be given a cozy table with a great view, and I did this quite well in advance. Instead we have been sitted just in the middle of the restaurant, which felt a bit like I would be on stage.

Then also the waiter would bring the wine without knowing from which ptovince of Italy it is coming. A bit strange taking into account Daniel's reputation.

However all in all it was good. Still there are many other places to discover in NYC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Formal but friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Superb restaurant. Though setting is formal and men require a jacket the service is not "stiff". We tried the three course prix fixe menu and that was very good. A wide variety of appetizers and main course followed by a separate dessert menu. The wine list is extensive and touches all price points.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“flawless , a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My third time at Daniel, this time with friends.
From the minute we walked in, we experienced exquisite attention, making us feel like we were special...
A drink at the bar, then to our table where we were pampered by the waiting staff. The food is absolutely the best, sophisticated and simple. The wine list is incredible, with the best wines in the world from the most renowned winemakers.
A flawless experience overall.
Service is outstanding, classicism yet warm and caring.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel also viewed

 

Been to Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daniel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.