We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cuban Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victor's Cafe

Victor's Cafe
236 West 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-586-7714
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Victor's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #155 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 52nd St. between Broadway & 8th Ave
Transit: Stops E train to 7 Ave, #1 train to 50th Street, N R Q to 49th Street
Description: Since 1963, Victor’s Cafe, a family-run New York City landmark, continues to be a culinary voyage to Cuba offering an incomparable experience with its harmony of authentic cuisine, hospitality and stylish environment. Victor’s has the unique distinction of being both luxurious and casual, serene and high energy, family oriented and romantic, exotic yet familiar. The cuisine at Victor’s includes the most delicious, authentic dishes combined with the restaurant’s exclusive creations that represent the evolution of Cuban cuisine. Signature dishes include Victor’s famous black bean soup, shredded beef (“Ropa Vieja”), and roast suckling pig (“Lechon”). The restaurant itself is divided into three spacious dining rooms, accented with warm lighting, colorful Cuban art, tropical ceiling fans, and lofty sky-lit ceilings. The restaurant's Cuba Lounge is intimate and warm, featuring a tapas menu and a variety of traditional Cuban cocktails such as Mojitos and Sangria.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Cuban Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I were in NYC to visit our son and his girlfriend this weekend. It was very hot - decided to try Victor's Cafe and we were not disappointed. We had made reservations through Open Table and were seated right away - although the bar looked pretty inviting with live Cuban music. The service was attentive and not rushed. We all started with their specialty drinks which were great - my wife really enjoyed the dragonberry martini. Two of our party had the Taste of Cuba and really enjoyed the variety and the included desert. My son had the shrimp dish which had just the right amount of "kick" to it and I loved the Paella - which included half a lobster. The chocolate lava cake with coconut ice cream was fantastic. The ambiance was very nice. We all said we would go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    184
    50
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Victor Victor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a late dinner at Victor's Cafe after seeing the show "Jersey Boys", just across the street.
Everyone was friendly and we were seated right away. The decorations were nice and everything was neat and clean. The service was fine. We found the food to be expensive and not very tasty.
Yes, we all have different tastes. But to us, it was not so good. So, due to the cost and quality of the food, we cannot recommend this restaurant. Sorry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
740 reviews 740 reviews
491 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The ambience here is great. You walk to the back and it opens up with a big sky light. The food was decent. The sangria wasn't that good. We tried both the red and white. The tres leches cake was yummy. Great location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We celebrated our anniversay at Victor's after the theatre. The food and the decorations are first class as is the service. I made the reservation in advance and noted that it was our anniversary. The hostess created with a wish for a happy anniversary and the wonderful waiter brought my wife her dessert on a plate decorated with happy anniversary in frosting. We both had the sampler dinners so we would not miss any of the house specials. Although the restaurant was crowded we were not pressured to leave the table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't Stay for the Main Course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I know its NYC and things are more expensive, but the food to dollar ratio here is way off! The portions were SO small my son asked if he could order another! (picadillo) When you spend close to $25 for an entrée it should at least fill you up.....the atmosphere is great though and the music was fun and lively. The food is fairly authentic according to my Cuban husband, just small for the money. And their "famous" black beans were nondescript, actually tasteless....
For drinks and Tapas, it would be an interesting stop, but don't eat here....We had a reservation and still waited an hour to be crammed in to a table, the wait staff was less than friendly and seemed annoyed we were ordering from the "low end" of the menu, and hovered over our table when we done eating and having espresso, giving us the distinct feeling of "you're done, now get out"....we were with family and friends for a birthday party and wanted to be leisurely and sit and talk after eating....for $500+ spent, we thought we had earned that right.......

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Victor's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victor's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.