We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modest place to eat Cuban” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Son Cubano

Son Cubano
544 West 27th Street, New York, NY 10001, New York City, NY 10014 (Chelsea)
212-366-1640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,421 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: Upscale supper club
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A modest place to eat Cuban”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've heard a lot of good things about the place in the past and was willing to try.
It was Okay, just O.K.; Food and servicer both alike.

A little bit disappointed but could have been worst (after reading some of the reviews afterwards).
Proces are somewhat high as well considering what you are getting.

Over all may be worth to visit if you are desperate for a cuban food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The food was good, and unpretentious. But share your mains, if you want to feel alive after your meal. The music was great, but too loud for a sexagenarian like me. The ambiance was an unqualified 10/10. Service was latino-friendly.

If you want to have a great night, go, tell Douglacito or Jorge about whatever you need, and have a blast.

Wines? The Argie Malbecs and Torrontés take the day, and they are well priced.

If you go with a spouse, watch dancers carefully ...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went here for my sister-in-law's 60th birthday party on Thurs. (6-23-12) with a group of 7 women. The music made us all want to dance! The food was fabulous! The shrimp and roast pork appetizers were absolutely fabulous. We all agreed that we had never tasted shrimp so flavorful and roast pork so tender! The dinners were also very good. Try the Chilean Sea Bass says Kim.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Better food elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were expecting this place to be packed, but there were only a few tables occupied. The starters were promising but the main meals were hit and miss. We were a group of 6 so they hit us with 20% tip even though the place was empty. I still had to pore my own wine after waiting for some time with any empty glass. Ended up with a bill just under $600, the cocktails the others drank didnt help in that regard, $15 each (plus 20%). Not a highlight of my visit to NY.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Mojitos and terrific Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

BEST mojito ever. Seriously. Went with a group of five and ordered plenty of tapas - all were fresh, lively and packed with flavor. Everything we tried was just delicious - my 14 year old is begging to go back that's how good it was! Try the pernil, or the ropa vieja (which was served on a mold of rice - slightly unusual, but yummy nevertheless). Take our advice and split an entree, especially if you start with Tapas, otherwise there is way too much yummy food (which went to waste as we were staying in a hotel.)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Son Cubano also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Son Cubano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Cubano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.