We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philip Marie Restaurant

Philip Marie Restaurant
569 Hudson Street, Corner of West 11th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
212-242-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Philip Marie Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6,562 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: West 11th Street
Transit: A C or E Trains to 14th Street and 8th Avenue. B D F or M Trains to West 4th Street. 1 2 or 3 Trains to Christopher Street. M20 Bus to Hudson Street and West 11th Street.
Description: Innovative American Cuisine, Great Specials & More...If you've not yet discovered Philip Marie, a neighborhood gem in the heart of the West Village, you're in for a real treat. It's here that Executive Chef and Owner John Philip Greco III works his culinary magic in an environment steeped in New York City's hidden past. Despite its historic setting, replete with secret underground passages, a former speak-easy and the shadows of a 200-year old love story, the restaurant's concept and menu exhibit the young, hip creative take on "good ol' American food" with which the owner opened his brain-child 15 years ago. Philip Marie's main dining room continues to set the stage for some of the most innovative American dishes in New York, including wild game, exotic meats, fresh seafood and irresistible desserts. An extensive Wine List & Reserve list, boasting incredible wines from around the world, enables a perfect wine-food pairing for each luscious course, while the bar offers unique cocktails. A warm and attentive staff helps to maintain Philip Marie's extremely devoted clientele.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Whilst walking the streets of West Village we stumbled on this little restaurant and it was fantastic. Our server was helpful and attentive the atmosphere was cozy and we enjoyed a fantastic lunch. We chose from the special lunch menu. The tomato soup was tasty and piping hot and the rest of the meal was delicious. This is definitely worth a visit if you are in the area Great value for money and tasty food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    46
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Overall good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Came here with a group of friends for dinner. Charming, west. Village restaurant, excellent place to sit outside in the summer. The atmosphere is cozy; it feels like you are in a homey and comfy spot. Our server was very good, the wait staff was attentive. I had chopped citrus salad (salad was fresh and delish) and Grilled Spinach and Artichoke Stuffed Chicken Breast (was good too). My husband eats: Gazpacho Soup (so good) and Lamb Leg (not the best). Overall, the food was good, and we enjoyed the experience. Reasonably priced and delectable selections would go back.
Only one cons: Very steep stairs to the downstairs bathroom.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlatravelsfar
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best romantic night In NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We did the wine room. IT WAS SO AMAZING! Stellar food! Even more stellar service! Request Berto! He was so attentive and did a fantastic job with the wine pairing! The wine room is small, which we love, it is intimate, special, and somewhere we go on every trip to NYC! Highly recommend!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Annual Traveler to NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We are an annual traveler to NY and were on a walking trip through NY - Soho, Greenwhich Village, Chelsea, Etc. While walking back to Times Square we became hungry, and stumbled upon the Phillip Marie, read the menu outside and decided to dine here. The service was a little slow, and our food seemed to take forever to arrive at our table, but once the food arrived, it was incredible. The soup of the day was amazing, fried green tomatoes were excellent, and the wraps we ordered were great. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that is not on a tight schedule. It was a gem that we found on a mid-day walk in lower Manhattan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Go Somewhere Else for New Years!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wen to Philip Marie last year for New Years and it was a terrible experience. Food was ok, but there are so many options in NYC, spend your money somewhere that will treat you with respect.

I made a reservation for a large party weeks in advance. After talking to restaurant staff several times prior to arrival, including 4 hours beforehand, I showed up and almost everything I'd confirmed had changed. The MAJOR changes were, the private room I'd been guaranteed was suddenly unavailable and the corkage fee increased from $15/bottle to $20 - $30/bottle. The Manager confirmed that his staff had given me the wrong information, but was unapologetic and refused to honor what was said to me. The private room went to someone willing to pay more money than me. My feeling is that they only told me what they needed to get me there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philip Marie Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Philip Marie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philip Marie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.