We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Oyster Bar

Pearl Oyster Bar
18 Cornelia St, Frnt 2, New York City, NY 10014-4138 (West Village)
212-691-8211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: West Village
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is really cosy but the food is to die for. The lobster roll is simply delicious and the scallops were perfectly done. Highly recomended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    77
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hands down, THE best lobster roll in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having lived in Boston for 10 years and making many trips to Maine, I've had my share of the best lobster rolls. Hard to find a good lobster roll in NYC. Luke's Lobster is very good, but I have to give the top prize to the Pearl Oyster Bar. NO celery, huge pieces of lobster, perfectly butter-grilled buns. Order anything from the Pearl Oyster and you'll be happy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Popped into this amazing little Oyster Bar by chance, so glad we did! I was in New York with a friend and staying in the same street. We had never tried Oysters before. Out intention was to pop for a glass of champagne and try the fresh Oysters. The staff were excellent, friendly and informative, probably the nicest people we came across on our trip. We ended staying for hours and had several plates of both fresh and the fried Oysters. There were also some very nice wines available! The place was packed and we sat at the bar, it would appear that its best to book if your want a table. Try this place, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This restaurant is one of the mandatory stop in every trips in New York. Yes, you have to wait to get a table. But then when you get it or you sit at the bar the show starts: delicious oysters, new england soup (never, never skip this) lobster (grilled, boiled or roll are all great) and it's already time to plan a new visit. Nice, cozy place, great and friendly service, great mood! One of my fav.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lobster roll - wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great little place recommended by a friend. Had the fried oysters, crispy shrimp and shared a lobster roll. The lobster roll at $30 is pricey but well worth it. There is loads of lobster packed in and the whole thing just melts in your mouth. A definite highlight of our trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Oyster Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pearl Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.