We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, atmosphere and meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ribbon Brasserie

Blue Ribbon Brasserie
97 Sullivan St, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10012-3663 (Manhattan)
212-274-0404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, atmosphere and meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

In NY for business and went here on a recommendation. Great atmosphere - just like a favourite brasserie in Paris except the service here was polite and helpful (unlike Parisians!) with thought through recommendations tailored to their take on me. I had the trout followed by a sorbet - just what I wanted for a light supper - the fish was perfectly cooked with balanced herbs that complemented and enhanced; the mango sorbet was refreshing and cleansing. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    70
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were able to walk in without a reservation. The place is quite small but has an nice feel and atmosphere. My husband had a great steak and I have the fried chicken with mash potato, gravy and honey, delicious.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The later, the better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The following is why this restaurant will always be great:
It is nice to wait at the bar, the bartender is a very serious man who pays attention, and not too much attention. The host is cool, nice, and friendly, but not too friendly. The food is really good. The waiter knew his wines. And the last two bottles of Cassis Rosé on the wine list were probably meant to be ordered and consumed by us. Finally, a 10 PM dinner ended up at 4 AM, because we felt this was a special evening, in the right place. Thank you guys! Will always be back!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent fried chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Blue Ribbon is great for late-night dining. It was packed at 1:00am and the waiting line was out the front door. We had a very short wait for a table. We heard they have delicious fried chicken & we were not disappointed. Blue Ribbon's fried chicken is the best! We had a longer wait for our food to come out of the kitchen than expected, but their chicken is worth the wait. Funny place ~ they have an oyster bar, a bustling bar, a very extensive menu ranging from Asian, Italian, Mexican, seafood & Southern comfort food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cool place, tasty food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I think this is a place to visit when in NY. They stay open from 4pm to 4am I think. Great cocktails, great service, tasty food. I see that a lot of people only had appetizers which I can recommended because that's what we thought tasted best from what we tried. They are also big in portion. Prices are just fine. Atmosphere really dark and cool. Just like it should be in NY.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ribbon Brasserie also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blue Ribbon Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ribbon Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.