We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloomingdale's Outpost” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bakery

Magnolia Bakery
401 Bleecker Street, New York City, NY 10014-2452 (Manhattan)
(212) 462-2572
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #648 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bloomingdale's Outpost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Waited on line for hot chocolate, only to see as we got close enough to read the small sign that the "machine was broken."

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    643
    386
    257
    124
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Delicious but way overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good service and obviously very popular, but I just find the cupcakes way too expensive for what they are. I know people that MUST stop at Magnolia's so definitely try it if you haven't.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“There's a good reason everyone loves it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not a cupcake person but my wife really wanted to try it. Lives up to all the hype I have to admit. Small lineup that moved pretty quickly. Easy way to put on some calories after all that walking!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Over Hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If Sex In The City never happened neither would have Magnolia Bakery (and every other shop on that stretch of Bleecker Street in the West Village. Go ahead overpay for a cupcake so you can tell the hoards on line from the tourist bus it was yummy. It's now a chain popping up here and there in NYC, so what is the point anymore?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A cute place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We decided to stop in for an afternoon treat....after our second day in NYC, it became clear this was a stop on alot of peoples agenda....constantly seeing Magnolia bags in the hands of alot of people.... It was a Sunday afternoon when we dropped in and it was packed....but it didn't take long at all. We ordered a couple dessert bars and they were delicious....if you walk by, stop in and pick something up.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Bakery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Magnolia Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.