We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beware of the concierge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Essex House New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Essex House New York to your Saves list
JW Marriott Essex House New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ice Skating Package
Ranked #210 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, beware of the concierge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here on business - truly awesome location. The general room is a nice size and comes with standard Marriott amenities for this class of hotel. Most of the staff was friendly and courteous and while the concierge we encountered on two evenings was both of these things, he was not knowledgable. The first evening we were trying to locate somewhere to eat at around 9 p.m. There were plenty of location options which we did happen into on our own but he directed us to Todd English food hall which closes at 9 p.m. The next day the same concierge staff member directed us to the Jazz at Lincoln Center where were headed for an event and gave us relatively inaccurate directions. We managed to find everything on our own, but that was less than helpful in both cases. Otherwise, a nice hotel - and certainly a lovely location.

Room Tip: Obviously a room overlooking Central Park is most desirable - I didn't have that so good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review of your recent stay. We understand that business travel can be a busy time, which is why we make every effort to provide our guests with the most convenient service and comfortable amenities. I would like to apologize that our concierges were not able to properly assist you with restaurant recommendations and directions. I will be looking into this issue with my staff. Thank you again for choosing the JW Marriott Essex House; please be sure to keep us in mind on your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    246
    97
    47
    34
See reviews for
190
268
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have reviewed this property before, but felt like doing it again! We stayed there again last week and I have to say this is such a great hotel with a wonderful staff! Everyone from check in to the lounge staff, bellmen, and others are so good! Of course the location can't be beat, but the staff and the rooms are impeccable! We will be back!

Room Tip: Book a Park view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We’d like to thank you for joining us yet again at the JW Marriott Essex House; it’s always a pleasure to see our loyal guests for a return visit. No matter what brings you to New York – whether it’s a business or leisure trip – you’ll always find comfort, luxury, and convenience. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the JW Marriot for a long weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. As mentioned by everyone else, the location directly across from Central Park is fantastic.

When you first arrive, the hotel lobby has a very art-deco feel. This is all original to the building and gives you a true "New York" feel. Cool.

The rooms are average in size for Manhattan. If you are traveling from the mid-west or west-coast and never been to New York, you might be surprised, but this is the norm in the City.

We chose a Central Park view, which is worth it. If you stay on Central Park South, you want to see the park! The room was billed as a queen, which we both agreed is closer to a full, has a safe, a mini-bar and a closet with an iron and board. The bathroom is nice, but small.

The staff are very attentive to your needs and will do whatever you need to have a comfortable stay. They actually sent us a complimentary bottle of Proseco for my wife's birthday, which was very considerate. The concierge was helpful with directions and help with the subway.

The restaurant is chic and the service is fine. We had a nightcap at the bar and it seems like a smart, after-work business crowd. We didn't eat there, but with all of the other choices in NYC, it was not because it didn't look good; we had specific destinations in mind.

What keeps this from being a 5 rating is the fact that there are some small details in the rooms that need to be addressed. A few of the towels in the room were frayed. There was a small cigarette burn in the carpet and some of the furniture was slightly worn. None of these things would stop me from booking here, but I would expect more from a JW property since they tend to be "flagship" locations.

Overall, a great location, nice hotel with very good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review and for choosing the JW Marriott Essex House for your wife’s birthday celebration. I’m glad to hear that we were able to help make the occasion so special. It sounds like you were able to enjoy so much of what makes our hotel special, from the stunning Central Park views to the prime location in the heart of the city. I do appreciate you bringing the small issues with your room to our attention; we will be looking into this with the housekeeping staff. Please do not hesitate to reach out if there is anything we can do to be of service until your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I spent a portion of our honeymoon at this excellent hotel 35 years ago. At the time we could not afford to spend an entire week here. No surprise, I suppose that when we decided to return we could still only part with the cash to spend a couple of nights--but it was worth it! We arrived to find no doorman on duty that we could recognize, but easily slid our rolling luggage into the beautiful art-deco lobby to register quickly and get up to our room--the same one we had so many years ago. The view of Central Park is grand. The adequately sized room has been tastefully redecorated. The double-paned windows kept the street noise at bay and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room fee, and it was marvelous, all you could eat buffet or table service--our choice. We were there over Memorial Day weekend, so the hotel and surrounding area was quiet. Central Park South is a great location for walking through Central Park to the Metropolitan Museum, down 5th Avenue to Rockefeller Center, around the corner to Carnegie Hall, or just a bit further to Broadway, the theater district and Times Square. Really, an ideal location. Checkout was a breeze and the doorman was already standing there with the taxi cab door open for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
First, congratulations on your 35th anniversary! That is such a special milestone, and we’re delighted that you returned to the JW Marriott Essex House to rekindle your honeymoon memories. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the quiet holiday weekend in the city, taking in the stunning views from your room and indulging in a scrumptious breakfast. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next anniversary or special occasion; please do not hesitate to get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were at New York in Wintertime, but it didnt make any diference at all. The hugest room we had in town. Perfect space distribution cleaningness and the collest bathroom I have ever seen plus a great luxurious bathtub for two. Inside the accomodations, everything was modern and sophisticated, but outside a travell in time. Sixty years back to the goldenyears. A mixture of glamour and orient taste. Awesome breakfast and afternoon tea. Very friendly staff eaguer to satisfy all our needs and full orientation to get along in the city. If I had to change anything, that would be the location, cause uptown is not the handiest place to stay in New York. Prepare yourself to feel like a King...

Room Tip: Fat from the elevators even though they are very quiet, but there are always people around. Highest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing all your kind words about your recent visit. A stay at the JW Marriott Essex House provides the perfect mix of modern luxury and Art Deco style for a truly immersive New York experience. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to New York you will keep us in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very much a mixed bag. Of course it is a fabulous location right across the street from Central Park. We had a marvelous view looking down on Central Park which I would have appreciated much more it the windows weren't so dusty and dirty. The lobby is very attractive and well maintained and the beds are quite comfortable.The linens are very nice if you can overlook how worn and patched they are as is everything else about the rooms. The negatives are more numerous than they should be. The room is tired. The carpet was so badly soiled I pleaded to the Bellman to get some help or else i was going out our to get some Resolve carpet cleaner. The positive is that our savior, Ramon was so kind and delivered everything he promised. The carpet was spotted the next day. Ramon is quite the ambassador for the Essex house. He responded as if this was the first time anyone complained about the carpet. He is a outstanding employee and showed great kindness and understanding. As in other reviews there is mildew in the shower. Gross. There is a hole in the tile around the shower fixtures in our room. The bathroom carpet is badly frayed. The room is so tired it needs a pacemaker.
The bar: Not comfortable. I felt like i was in a fishbowl. I am not interested in the foot traffic. The food on a Monday night was was barely average and served slightly warm. I might have been better off at a fast food stand. They did ok on the shrimp cocktail appetizer. How hard is that?
Bottom line: I have stayed at Courtyard properties that have showed better care. The JW Marriott in San Francisco and Chicago shine when compared. It you just want a great location this is the place. I am hoping for a little more. I am not alone in these observations. Read the other reviews.

Room Tip: The rooms on the high floors overlooking the park have a great view but hopefully they will clean th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I would like to apologize for your disappointment with your stay. I am glad that Ramon could help you throughout your stay. If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here during an overnight layover in New York. The location is brilliant - situated right in front of Central Park and not far from Times Square. Really enjoyed the classic art deco design and the elegant, cozy rooms reminiscent of the 1920s. The lounge on the first floor is really spacious, and has a diverse selection of food (especially dessert and snacks); it's better than most lounges I've been to. The view of Central Park from my room is superb (especially at night before and during sunset).

Room Tip: Pick a high-floor, city-view room. It's worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Address: 160 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Essex House New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.