We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in the NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aleo Restaurant

Aleo Restaurant
7 West 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Flatiron District)
+1 212-691-8136
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aleo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,810 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 5th Avenue
Transit: 6 Train to 23rd St. N Train to 23rd St. 1 Train to 18th St. or 23rd St.
Description: Aleo Restaurant Garden Dining is a find in the Flatiron District in NYC. "Sincere Service"..Zagat, and "A Great Date Place" ,Zagat....Known for its warm and friendly "Awesome Italian" food, often called "The Fine Dining Italian Cheers" where you want to know everybody there. OUTDOOR DINING with a GARDEN and RETRACTABLE ROOF
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best Italian in the NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is true old time italian fod
excellent
Try the house wine! It's excellent
No dislikes

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a great night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A truly wonderful, neighborhood restaurant that's as comfortable as my own dining room. Once inside, you can't help but relax. The staff treats you like they knnown you for years. Peter, the owner introduces himself as if he too were a long time friend. The menu is more than substantial. The prices for for this NYC restaurant are more like Brooklyn's. The food was prepared to perfection. The drinks were generous. The wines were delightful and the after dinner drinks were that much more enjoyable. Overall, this was a truly great dining experience. We will most definately re-visit this place again and again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food Excellent Service---Local Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I took my wife and some friends to this delightful Italian restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Nice bar, relaxed dining, friendly attentive service and great food at reasonable prices. The wine selection was reasonable and came without inflated NYC prices. This place is a local favorite for a reason.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great food and service eventhough light on ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We purchased a 150.00 pre-fixe dinner certificate from open table for 75.00 because it seemed like a good deal. Never did one of these before and had never been to this restaurant. We live in Queens and usually go to our local food places. We did not know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised with the delicious 4 course meal which have a good variety of selections.
Was truly a value and we intend to go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It must have been an off night.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

After reading all the reviews my friends and I went to Aleo for dinner. It must have been an off night. we ordered wine to start with. There was about 2 mouthfuls in the glass. We had soup and salad that were less than good. The Ceasar was particularly bad. After that we decided not to order a main and left. The service was bad also - the waiter only came when we called him. I eat out all the time but I will not go back here. I hope this was just an off night.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aleo Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Aleo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.