We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fuji Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fuji Sushi
238 West 56th Street, between 8th Ave & Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
(212) 586-9888
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fuji Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,665 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway and 8th
Transit: 57 St - 7 Av (N, Q, R) 59 St - Columbus Circle (1, 2, A, B, C, D) 7 Av (B, D, E)
Description: 1954 Fuji Sushi is the First Japanese Restaurant in NY City, one of the firsts in the United States. Designed with attention to details normally reserved for sculptures, Fuji is elegant without being stodgy. The Japanese Cuisine is so good it lives up to the legend inspiring gallant decor. You don’t have to travel half way around the world to immerse yourselves in far away cultures. You can partake in Fuji's unique pleasures of creative sushi and a mix of traditional and modern Japanese entrees. This incredibly stylish restaurant, bar and joint set the tone of modern day Zen Ambiance.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Had lunch here with my husband on a recent visit to the city. We ordered from the lunch special menu. The sushi was fresh and delicious and reasonably priced for the location. The atmosphere was just okay. It was small and loud which is fine for lunch. We were served and seated very quickly even though it was very busy.

Tip: If you like plum wine, you have the option of which brand to order. I find Choya to be the best choice and only found in fine Japanese restaurants. It was very reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Fantastic place, great service, food was delicious. Atm they are doing a 4 course meal for 28 bucks, check it out! Would go back in a minute.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

i have been eating sushi seriously since the mid 1980's. fuji restaurant has been around a lot longer. i happened upon it by accident in the winter of 2010 and have been a regular ever since. i usually sit at the sushi bar and enjoy both the food and the show. perhaps the best testimonial is that i have brought a number of people there and they have all liked it as well. it's excellent fish (and cooked dishes) at very fair prices.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very mediocre Japanese food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Terrible service - food below par- no reason to go here when there are so many good Japanese places in NYC

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great, and I mean GRREATT sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

In May 2010 we went for a bit at Basso56, the next door neighbour. It was at the time the #1 restaurant in NYC on Tripadvisor. When passing Fuji Sushi we decided that was our meal the next day.
No regrets for the decision. Only maybe that we didn't skip Basso56 in favour of Fuji...

The restaurant is very clean, helpfull staff and lovely sushi. Absolutely GREAT sushi. And I am a frequent visitor of sushi restaurants, so I have quite some places to compare it with.

Can't understand why it gets negative reviews here. And why there only are two reviews. If you like sushi, you certainly want to eat at Fuji!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuji Sushi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fuji Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuji Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.