We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The National Bar and Dining Rooms NYC

The National Bar and Dining Rooms NYC
557 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY
12127157400
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The National Bar and Dining Rooms NYC is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,810 of 11,595 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have never come closer to walking out of a restaurant, we only stayed as the kids were hungry and this was the hotel restaurant. Food and drinks were very expensive but were lovely. We ate from the restaurant week menu but I really object to having my food dumped in front of me without a word. We were ignored all evening and poured our own wine. There was a modicum of interest paid when they worked out it was my birthday and brought an extra dessert (the cynic in me thinks its easy to turn the charm on just before delivering the bill).

I wouldn't go back when there are so many other great restaurants in New York.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    16
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food with quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped here for a quick snack. We ordered Mango shrimp taco, french fries and a wheat beer. The mango shrimp taco was really good and the fries were the best I ever tasted.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Drinks are expensive -- food as well However, nice place t enjoy an adult beverage. Really cannot say much more as 2 drinks where more than $30 US money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This restaurant is owned by Jeffrey Zarcarian who is a judge on the show chopped. We ate breakfast here every morning. The food and service were terrific. The prices were very reasonable for NYC. No price gauging here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heswall England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

we made three visits to this excellent restuarant, just along from the doubletree hotel where we stayed.two breakfasts with the most gorgeous bacon we have ever had and one terrific evening meal the staff are efficient and very friendly and the service brilliant. One of the waiters from Bangladesh is a great promoter of the restuarant, well done all of you. Loved being with you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Bar and Dining Rooms NYC also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The National Bar and Dining Rooms NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Bar and Dining Rooms NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.