We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, attentive service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The High Line Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The High Line Hotel to your Saves list
The High Line Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Santa Monica, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very cool boutique hotel across from High Line. Lots of thoughtful details including a stamp press in the rooms previously used by seminarians as the hotel renovated a gorgeous seminary. Rooms were quite large by New York standards. Convenient to subways and walkable to many outstanding spots such as Chelsea Market and the West Village. Concierge (Daniel) went out of way to be helpful and friendly...good advice and attention to detail. We'll be back!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    52
    26
    13
    10
See reviews for
17
80
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service at the High Line Hotel is impeccable! The location is convenient to the subway, wonderful restaurants, and of course, The High Line Park. Looking forward to my next visit to NYC so I can stay there again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My third stay at this hotel. Location is perfect; building is amazing; staff is very friendly and the un-hotel feeling of it makes it even better. Cant beat the location!
Intelligentsia coffee shop in the lobby is the perfect start of the day.
Rooms are awesome and decorated very tastefully, bed is perfect and small details like old fashion pencils, notepads and amenities are scattered nonchalantly in the room.
Management is there to resolve any issue should you need them. "The Hotel" while in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York. I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed, and I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I just spent a long weekend at the High Line Hotel and it is now one of our favorite places to stay in New York. The room was exceptionally large and pleasant. Huge well appointed bathroom. You couldn't ask for a better location. If you are a coffee drinker it's a perfect place as the lobby includes a coffee bar that features "Intelligent" coffee prepared with reverence. The staff is great - friendly and knowledgable, going out of their way to be helpful. Special thanks to Daniel for all his help during our stay. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just stayed this past weekend at the Highline Hotel on suggestion from a friend who had stayed one time before and truly enjoyed the overall experience!!!
The design of the hotel is true lifestyle and the beds in the guest rooms are the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. I love the little touches through out the hotel with vintage pieces of furniture and the stationary stamp on the guest room desk is super cute!
The coffee bar in the lobby is a local hang out with a wide selection of coffee options and teas to choose from!
I will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The High Line Hotel is a funky fun place in one of the hottest neighborhoods in NYC. The decor is warm and charming and the staff is friendly and welcoming. We were always greeted, as if we were coming home. It is conveniently located within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and transportation. (Subway is only 2 blocks and 4 avenues away.) The lobby is a dog friendly coffee shop, so there's always interesting visitors to watch or interact with. This however also appeared to be the only drawback we encountered. After returning to the hotel in the late afternoon, the lobby was so crowded there was no place for us to sit and relax. I imagine in nicer weather, the back patio would alleviate this issue. That being said, I would definitely return, felt very much at home here.

Room Tip: In the future I would ask for room away from the elevator, people coming and going could be clearly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The High Line Hotel offers the charm you’d expect from Chelsea with easy walking access to the neighborhood and adjacent places like the Flatiron District (Eatly/ABC Carpet Home/UnionSquare) and West Village (Magnolias Bakery).

I had a girls weekend away in NYC and we all enjoyed our comfortable accommodations (extra comfy bed!). Just stay away from the Standard Queen double-sized bed rooms since they are smaller than a closet and are noted with ½ after the room numbers. The Standard King and especially the Deluxe King provided for lots of room for the gals to hang out and catch up on life.

The lobby was warm and inviting with its own expresso bar open to the public. The only thing I took issue with is that the neighbors all feel a need to bring their dogs with them to the expresso bar and hang out in the intimate (limited seating) lobby. With three to four dogs at any one time, I wasn’t sure I was in a dog park or a hotel. Dogs aside, I definitely plan to return and can’t wait to experience the hotel and it’s outdoor spaces in warmer weather!

Room Tip: Don't book a Standard Queen -- rooms noted by 1/2 after the room number. They are the size of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The High Line Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Line Hotel

Address: 180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The High Line Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our conveniently located Chelsea hotel near The High Line. Each of The High Line Hotel's 60 rooms evoke a bygone era of a graciously decorated guesthouse. As our guest you'll enjoy staying in our light-filled rooms featuring beautiful hardwood floors and one-of-a-kind locally sourced furniture. Over-sized beds with crisp cotton linens provide a perfect night's sleep, and plush robes invite you to relax after a long day. All rooms feature large windows offering dazzling views of the High Line Park or our enclosed private-garden oasis. Guests are encouraged to enjoy a perfectly brewed espresso prepared by our Intelligentsia Coffee & Tea baristas in the lobby. Sip your espresso at the bar, get your latte to go, or take your freshly brewed pour over coffee to the back courtyard for a moment to yourself. In the evening, grab a glass of wine and enjoy a beautiful night under the stars in our Parisian inspired garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The High Line Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The High Line Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.