We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New world understated character and class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The High Line Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The High Line Hotel to your Saves list
The High Line Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New world understated character and class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I stay at the High Line hotel every time I visit New York because I love the feel of the hotel (it's a converted Monastery), it's quirky and full of character and the service is outstanding. I always feel more like I'm staying in someone's home. The Intelligentsia cafe serves the best coffee in NYC and in summer the front courtyard converts to a fabulous outdoor european style cafe/bar. I love being in the heart of Chelsea. I will continue to stay at this hotel every time I visit NYC

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    45
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
16
70
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We traveled with an infant to celebrate a friend's birthday in the hotel. I enjoyed the stay--but they have some issues to work out. It's such a cool building with friendly people, I bumped them up to a four. I hope that they live up to it in the future.
The reservation process was poor. I had to call to book as part of the group rate, and it was difficult to get called back, get an email confirmation or get any reply. I suspect online booking is easier. To shorten the story, I was ready to award two dots to the hotel, at most. But our welcome was incredibly friendly and a pack and play was ready and waiting in the room for us. The amenities in the room were nice, except there was a great deal of booze and no coffee. Getting dressed to go down to a (fair) coffee shop is not ideal in the morning. The beds are very comfortable, but expect quite a bit of noise from the street (the snowplows were LOUD. I don't mind this in NYC, but a big chain is your answer if you want soundproofing). The location is extremely lovely, quite near the high line itself. But the food options are slim, especially for breakfast (due to the lease they have, unfortunately, that's out of the control of the hotel. I did have pizza delivered one night without a problem). Finally, the water quality is fairly poor--I addressed this with the hotel staff shortly after I discovered it and they were going to investigate. With attention to more details and working around some of the glitches, this could be a fabulous place.

Room Tip: The king suites are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed. I was concerned to hear about your reservation experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it. I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to your return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a 40th birthday with toddler in tow. It was by far our favorite NYC stay. Intelligentsia coffee bar on the ground floor is great, hotel staff and customer service is super. The look, feel and atmosphere of the hotel is so unique that though it is clearly a splurge, it was worth it. Hotel is just steps away from the High Line and Chelsea Market.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York.Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Hotel was a treat. I hadn't heard about the park in the sky, high line which the hotel is named so accurately. It was a great stay with good space and ambience. I'd recommend the hotel to friends and family. There is a great restaurant across the street called the cook shop.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unlike many Manhattan hotels, this one is properly friendly, low key, relaxed and welcoming. The staff genuinely make you feel at home. The rooms are beautiful, quiet, cosy and spacious (I've stayed here often, always true) and the lobby is busy with great coffee and dog visitors. I spend half my year in New York and the High Line is always my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed, and I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated. I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

EXCELLENT hotel. The decor is fantastic, the employees are super friendly and helpful. This hotel is unlike any hotel I have ever stayed in. Our room was quite small but it was so nicely done and comfortable that we didn't even notice the size! The coffee bar in the lobby is quite good and very popular! Location is incredible! The high line is right across the street, many cool shops and places to eat. A few blocks down is the Chelsea Market. Such a cool part of the city. We absolutely loved it and would definitely stay there again. As we were checking out, they walk you through the bill to make sure everything is correct. I haven't found that to be the norm and thought that final touch was very nice. HIGHLY recommend The High Line Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During a business trip I stayed here for 5 nights. It is a great hotel, beautiful from the outside as well as from the inside. Nice room, with a very old feel, but with modern day comfort: a large, very soft bed, and a Bluetooth loudspeaker to hook your smart phone or computer to, amongst the many amenities (free Wi-Fi! No password!). My room was facing the courtyard (and terrace), which was really very quiet, probably because of the winter cold, but the streets surrounding the hotel weren't too busy either.
The only downside to the High Line Hotel is the lack of a restaurant. There is a coffee counter, very posh and stylish, with all the right coffees for hipsters and such, but not the place for me to eat my breakfast, continental or not. There is no room service either. Breakfast, lunch and dinner should be had somewhere else, which is okay if you wanted to explore the city anyway.
I didn't hear my neighbors, but maybe there weren't any. So, apart from the jetlag, I could sleep well.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Highline Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The High Line Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Line Hotel

Address: 180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The High Line Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our conveniently located Chelsea hotel near The High Line. Each of The High Line Hotel's 60 rooms evoke a bygone era of a graciously decorated guesthouse. As our guest you'll enjoy staying in our light-filled rooms featuring beautiful hardwood floors and one-of-a-kind locally sourced furniture. Over-sized beds with crisp cotton linens provide a perfect night's sleep, and plush robes invite you to relax after a long day. All rooms feature large windows offering dazzling views of the High Line Park or our enclosed private-garden oasis. Guests are encouraged to enjoy a perfectly brewed espresso prepared by our Intelligentsia Coffee & Tea baristas in the lobby. Sip your espresso at the bar, get your latte to go, or take your freshly brewed pour over coffee to the back courtyard for a moment to yourself. In the evening, grab a glass of wine and enjoy a beautiful night under the stars in our Parisian inspired garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Tablet Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The High Line Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The High Line Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.