We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character near the High Line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The High Line Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The High Line Hotel to your Saves list
The High Line Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #295 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lots of character near the High Line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife an I stayed at the High Line hotel while we were going to an opening at one of Chelsea's many art galleries. My wife is a gardener, and was wanting to see the elevated High Line gardens. One of the entrances to the High Line is just across the street, so it was a very convenient location for us.

The hotel has a great deal of charm. It is a converted dormitory from the seminary that is still next door. That gives the rooms tons of character, with all the old architectural features. We had a deluxe room on the back of the hotel, which was overlooking a grassy courtyard between the hotel and seminary. That helped us avoid the sound of traffic you would get on the front.

There isn't a reception desk in the lobby. There is instead a nice coffee place. You are checked in by a staff member with an ipad.

There are plenty of cool places to eat in the area.

In short, if you are looking to see the High Line, or the galleries of Chelsea then this is a fun, funky place to stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back overlook a courtyard, and are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
14
63
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bawlmer
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really nice rooms and a fantastic staff.They bent over backwards to accomidate us.Great area,and the walk on the High Line is cool.My only complaints are ,our room for some reason had a automatic faucet in the sink, which was weird.If you showered then brushed your teeth, you were using hot water.My other complaint was the lobby noise, we were on the first floor, and it was really noisy late at night and in the morning, so book a higher room.The room was spacious and the bed was fantastic.All in all a great place to stay for the $$$


dano

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York. I've shared your comments with all of our staff and also we appreciate your feedback regarding your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the High Line Hotel at the end of October 2014. The hotel is clean, the staff is great and it's full of history. The only downside for us was the noise. Since it is an old hotel, the windows are not well isolated so we could hear the noise from the street plus it was cold.
Beautiful but expensive!

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed, and I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is in a fantastic part of NYC, near Chelsea, the High Line and the West Village. The rooms are beautiful, cozy and very aesthetically pleasing. All of the staff were incredibly friendly, as were the other travelers. The type of people that this hotel attracts will make you want to spend hours sitting in the lobby chatting everyone up!

The coffee shop is outstanding; definitely the most freshly brewed cup of coffee I have had in a while. I love the look of the entire hotel. Very boutique and not like any hotel I had ever seen.

The view from the room was of the hustling and bustling street, however it was extremely quiet at night and very easy to fall asleep. The shower was very nice, as was the bathroom. I loved the look and feel of the room and was dying to stay longer. Free wifi and free domestic and international calls- always a bonus.

The small hotel experience makes the stay very unique and quaint; the service is always quick due to the small number of people staying there.
Everything was better than expected and I am looking forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: Had a room right on the street corner on the second floor with no issues with street noise or sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York. I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Now if only we could add efficiency. We arrived at 2pm, granted slightly before check in, and were told rooms would be ready in 20 minutes. Fine, we went to have lunch. Returned an hour later to hear, rooms would be ready in twenty minutes. Left again to go shopping. Returned at 5pm and yes, told the rooms would be ready in twenty minutes. It's now after 6pm,this is a one night stay and special treat for our daughters for the holidays and we're now piled into one available room to get ready for our dinner. The attitude about the whole deal is indifferent and 'what's the big deal' . We were given a brunch voucher, sadly we won't be able to use it.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great building, very nice interesting rooms. Convenient location for Chelsea and west village. Easy access to the high line park and Hudson River views . Two problems the hotel as yet yo resolve - no food service except and overpriced yuppy coffee stand and very quirky, slow and clumsy check in process. In particular the slow checking system is really bad in a city that prides itself on speed and efficiency. The lack of a good restaurant is annoying but we hope this will improve in the future . There really is no lobby, just a space with a few benches, a chair and standup overpriced not very good coffee. There are other choices in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel and certainly want to apologize for the less than satisfactory check in. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it. I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to your return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanting a different experience we decided to enjoy our annual Christmas shopping trip away from the main stays. We were not disappointed. Christmas music greeted us in the outside courtyard, adorned with a glorious 15 foot lighted tree. Entering the front door there is a busy coffee bar with lots of people and their dogs relaxing. The check in station is a small alcove to your right. Our rooms were not ready, so we checked our bags and set out to walk the High Line, one of Manhattan’s newest attractions, an elevated train track turned into an aerial walking park. It is a great way to get to Chelsea Market and enjoy a wide range of food choices and gift shops. It seems Chelsea is the new Soho with over 300 galleries and new apartments popping up all around. Returning at 4:30 still no room. We were told it was because we had requested a courtyard view on 5th floor (to avoid street noise). We finally got to our room at 5:15. Room 57 is about 12’ by 12 in size’, with dark original hard wood floors covered by a made to look old oriental rug, king bed billowing with a fluffy comforter, lots of pillows, an old writing desk, rotary telephone and small cabinet with two draws, hidden refrigerator and safe. A basket of snacks and a wide range of adult beverages for purchase are also in the room. There was no closet, however a rolling hanging rack was provided. The bathroom was small but adequate and very clean. Plenty of towels, toiletries, hairdryer, robe and slippers were in place. Internet is complimentary and we found the connection to be great. There was a 42 inch flat screen TV. Interestingly, no clock or radio. Old books bedside and an odd terrarium enhance the feel you have stepped back in time. Lighting is very dim however. You need to call downstairs for ice to be delivered. The staff is friendly and helpful, particularly Paul. We enjoyed the neighborhood feel, the small hotel experience (less than 60 rooms) and the really comfortable bed. I asked Paul and was told rooms 3, 4 and 5 are larger. We will definitely stay again. My only complaint is the coffee bar's bakery items are NOT good and cocktail service is only a few hours in the afternoon. I suggest breakfast and cocktails down the street 1 block.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed and apologize for not getting your room ready by 3 pm on the day of your arrival. Also we have heard you about our Café food offering and are looking into improving the selection as soon as possible. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The High Line Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Line Hotel

Address: 180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The High Line Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The High Line Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The High Line Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.