We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping Back in Time at The High Line Hotel Chelsea NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The High Line Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The High Line Hotel to your Saves list
The High Line Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 454 Hotels in New York City
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stepping Back in Time at The High Line Hotel Chelsea NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room on Courtyard side fairly quite. Lighting in room dim, bathroom small and tight but adequate. Bed comfortable. All Wood Floors with Oriental Rug. Elevator. Has an older classy Charm in décor. Many other rooms all different configurations. Step Back in Time Lovely Feel but not enough area for clothing and toiletries No Counter space or Dresser. One Closet with no suitcase butler.
Double, Singles etc. with some sitting areas.

NO RESTURANT on premises only coffee bar in entrance foyer. Would have justified the cost of room per night with a resturant and other amenities.

High Line walkway outdoors with areas to sit. Parking area Edison Park across street which stacks cars not a garage. Close to Chelsea Piers. Would not recommend for family with kids. VERY BUSY area.

Room Tip: Courtyard side quieter Kingsize Bed LOVELY NO RESTURANT
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
13
59
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent three nights in early November - not long enough! This hotel is in a great neighbourhood, right across from the High Line. We had a deluxe on the corner of 20th and 10th Avenue. Next time I'll be sure to request a courtyard room as our room was pretty noisy, in spite of being on the 4th floor. Lots of traffic day and night so we were glad we packed earplugs.

The ground floor is by and large a coffee shop - Intelligentsia. Make sure you're not rushed for coffee as it's definitely worth the wait. Shame there isn't more seating as it does have an air of being a bit of a locals hangout - giving it a nice vibe, but it's short on space for hotel guests who want to sit out somewhere other than their room.

Very comfortable beds - we slept like babies - with earplugs ;-)
Nice Bigelow toiletries and linens.

There is no in-hotel dining but some great local options, like Cookshop across the street. La Lunchonette (sadly closing in 2015) just to nama a couple of places. 23rd Street a couple of blocks up so public transportation is a breeze.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York.

We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here several times as we have family to visit in the neighborhood. Location great, ambiance nice, bell staff wonderful. The rooms are small and there is no counter space in the bathroom. The dim lighting in the bedroom is unacceptable. Since the only mirror is in the bathroom, I had to lay out toiletries and cosmetics on the desk and carry individual items into the bathroom to use. The shower has multiple hold bars and a fold-down seat, but the small size of the bathroom would make it difficult for a wheelchair user. We stay here when the price is right!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. Wanted to let you know that all our light switches have dimmer but are difficult to see, which is a concern. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

Thank you for staying at the High Line Hotel and looking forward to meeting you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful charming boutique hotel close to amazing restaurants and so many fun NY experiences (have to check out the High Line walk). Huge rooms for New York City. Cozy beds and such helpful staff. Love!

Room Tip: Back side of hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time staying here, and would do it again but wil request a higher floor. The check in was strange as they don't have a reception area. Instead, the 'doorman'/front desk reception staff greeted me upon arrival, and at my confused look explained he was the check in guy, using only an ipad. he gave me the key and sent me on my way; I actually like hotels that don't escort you to your room (I don;t need someone to show me how to turn on a TV), but it did feel a little like a holiday inn in that sense. The building is old and recently converted into a hotel; the style and decor are very cozy and comfy, elegant with a touch of a vintage. My room was very comfy although the pillows were too thick, thus upsetting an otherwise good night's sleep.

Another upsetting factor to my sleep was my proximity to the hotel's coffee shop, which occupies what would normally be the reception area. And it was directly across from my room. Thus, I heard the line of mostly non-hotel guests (and seemingly New York's coolest hipster set) queuing for their $5 coffees, The smells and noises wafted into my room at an early hour both days, and woke me up. That was not pleasant for me, and I would never stay in that area again. There was also noise from the street in early mornings and late nights. And more noise from guests returning to their rooms late night too....the walls seem very thin.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfiest bed I have ever slept in EVER.

We stayed here for a week in Autumn half term, with my two daughters 11 & 13.
Its a great place to stay to explore the city, we loved the neighbourhood, the local diners, chelsea market and the high line. It makes a welcome change to the hectic corporate world of midtown staying in a residential area.
The STAFF are out of this world helpful and friendly and the room - a twin double - was ample for the four of our needs (they have very large bathrooms, massive closets, Irons, ironing boards yada yada) . So top marks, the only mild suggestion I have is more towel hooks please. The coffee shop is Tres cool also!! Bx

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We are glad you had a wonderful time with your family meanwhile in New York. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was super nice and helpful. Room was huge for NYC. Great experience! Needed a late night dinner suggestion after arriving at 9:30 and they steered me to a great nearby location. Provided umbrellas due to rain, and made every accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the High Line Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The High Line Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Line Hotel

Address: 180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The High Line Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The High Line Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The High Line Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.