We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Line Hotel has ice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The High Line Hotel

Save Saved
You added The High Line Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The High Line Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“High Line Hotel has ice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently got back from a trip to NYC with my g/f Pam and stayed at the High Line. First, as many have said, the MOST comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Hotel or otherwise! Second, a few unique hotel which is what we were looking for. Lots of quirky items in the room and the hotel itself. Very charming. Third and most important with me.......The staff is excellent!!! Each of them have great attitudes, great sense of humour, and were always asking if I am "enjoying my stay" or if I "need anything, just ask". I know it's a small thing but it's nice to be looked after when you travel. They did a fantastic job! On a side note, they must've gotten sick of us asking for ice everyday! Thanks again High Line! Looking forward to staying again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    14
    12
    7
See reviews for
9
47
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a boutique hotel that has a sense of itself, in a good way. It's not one of those boutique hotels who don't understand that they are Band B's with an overinflated sense of marketing. The coffee bar makes good coffee, not Australian good, but not half bad. It''s a bit of a palaver with all the pouring into different hot bowls and stuff for the tea, but quite mesmeric if you're not in a hurry. The room was a nice cosy size, and attractively organised. There were really really good bottles of whisky, proper sizes, from the mini bar. More of a midi bar really. And, best of all, when my husband left all his underwear in a drawer, they mailed it back, without writing UNDERWEAR on the label. The bar out the front is a good place for social and business meetings, and the service is nice, friendly. The room was a bit overpriced, but that is presumably because it's in Chelsea. Anyway, I liked it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great boutique hotel in the Chelsea district. The location of this hotel was wonderful with plenty of restaurants and bars plus Chelsea market within a short walk. You can use the hotels complimentary bikes and explore the cycle way next to the hudson. Service was in the most part excellent especially from the door men who were very friendly and helpful. A few  issues though, firstly the air conditioning system is not good and our room never cooled down properly. Secondly the guest amenities were not refreshed each day, in fact they were never refreshed and the shampoo ran out. The snack tray also had out of date items. 

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the Highline Hotel on your recent visit.

I had a chance to review your feedback and was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

Again, thank you for your feedback and hope to greeting you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Flew up to NYC friday afternoon for a friend''s bday party and a mini anniversary celebration and decided to splurge on the high-line. It was a fast visit, check in at 4 and out at 830 am the next day.

It's a hot and muggy 90 degrees out and right when we got to our room, we noticed the AC was not functioning. We expressed our concern and we were assured that an engineer would be up to address the problem. We asked to be moved to another room and were told that the engineer had to come up first. So we left our bags packed and went out to see the neighborhood. It is a great area of Manhattan to explore with excellent shopping. We asked the staff to give us a cal and let us know status (so we can decide if we are going to stay there or not)

We got back and were told that the engineer had been up and indeed the AC was not working but that they could not move us. They offered us a fan. My husband asked to speak to a manager and waited in the lobby for 20 minutes. At this point we need to get to our friend's party so we start to get ready while our room is basically broiling hot -- it faces the hudson.

There is no bathmat and we cannot find a hair dryer but no one at the front desk will take our calls now and our multiple calls to inquire about a hair dryer or a fan all roll into a general hotel reservation line. Still no fan and no manager. The manager shows up after 45 minutes since we first asked and the fan never showed up. He has nothing new to add but that the engineer is working on the problem and doesn't seem to be aware that we wanted to change rooms the second we stepped into the 80 degree room. News to him. He promises to update us but makes no effort to ease the situation and tells us we cannot be moved bc they are "fully committed" ...still no fan.

Having stayed in all manner of hotel, I found the level of service and attention here to be JV at best. I don't think it was too much to ask for an option to change rooms or a more information when our room was 80 degrees and uninhabitable.

We leave for the party at 7. When we return at midnight, the room seems to be cooler but by no means at the level we would have expected as the ac is marginally functioning. No fan.

At check-out, all this information is new again to the check-out person who asked cheerfully about our stay at their ultra groovy hotel. As I explain that our stay was pretty awful and why, she muses about hearing the the AC went down briefly. She offers to call the manager who "might" be able to offer us a credit.

Since we are on our way to catch a plane and have no real confidence that the manager will show up in a timely fashion, I encouraged her to explain the situation to her manager and would look forward to a response from the hotel. I double checked if she had my email and phone number.

That was 8 hours ago and nothing but an email of our bill. Is it now my job to pursue a credit from the hotel?

So yes the hotel is charming and cool. The room on the 4th floor had a view of the river. The bathroom, however, was TINY, very mad men era, and looked nothing like the picture on the website for a king deluxe room. Since we had no bath mat, we had to put a towel down, when we took it up to dry it, it was smeared with rust brown gunk from the floor. The bed was comfy and the sheets were fine. There was free WIFI and a safe and a fridge and a well-stocked mini bar--all the amenities one might expect.

All in all, it's more like a private room at a youth hostel but with a $500 price tag (room rate was $429-- hurts to even think about it.)

Room Tip: Maybe look for rooms on lower floors and not facing the Hudson. Bring lysol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the Highline Hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in New York.

I had a chance to review your feedback that you recently completed. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

We have heard you and we have processed a 50% credit to your account on Saturday and feel free to contact me should you not see it reflected in your account by Wednesday.

I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to your return to the area.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old church annex reborn as hip luxury midtown hotel. Nice and friendly staff but a very old building means no restaurant, no bar, no gym and no room service. Also a notoriously cranky fire alarm that goes off every other day or so. Wifi is super fast and stable and hassle free (no login). Good coffee and a nice outdoors bar in the front yard (summer only?). One block from the High Line Park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback and constructive comments. Early summer we opened Champagne Charlie, our outdoor restaurant and bar. Intelligentsia Bar located in our lobby is open daily from 7am to 9pm, offering an array of teas, coffee drinks, and breakfast pastries. We also offer complimentary access to Equinox Gym, which is minutes away from the hotel. We pride ourselves to listen to our customers and we will offer this Fall, our own in room dining service curated with our neighborhood restaurants. Once again, thank you for sharing with us your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First the positives: this place doesn't follow the boring design formula beloved of the hotel chains; the interior reflects the previous history of the building and to say that the place has character would be an understatement.
It's location is another positive, particularly if you are not averse to walking; some good dining options very close by which compensates for the lack of an on-site restaurant.
Where things came badly unstuck for us on a recent four night stay was with the level of service. The absence of a reception desk made dealing with staff while standing in the foyer quite awkward - particularly as it never seemed quite clear as to who exactly was in charge of operations. A person who is indentifiable as the manager would be a useful feature as we had little success dealing with a problem that arose.
On arrival we were assigned a room which could be best described as "compact", lacking any facility to hang clothes - possibly not a major issue if one was staying for a single night but four nights.....? We were initially assured that, due to the hotel being fully booked on our first night, we could not be reassigned a larger room until the next day. Upon checking the next morning, the story remained the same - hotel still fully booked, nothing could be done for us. So there the matter rested and we remained in what was cheekily named Room 36 and a half for our full stay.
What proved to be the most frustrating aspect was the failure of somebody to present themselves as management and explain why the problem could not be dealt with.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing with us your experience and I do apologize for the lack of concern showed by our staff. Rest assure that we have heard you and have taken necessary steps to improve our communication as well as clearly defining our lobby overall experience. Please contact me directly the next time your are in town so I can personally arrange your accommodations needs. Once again, thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I specifically booked this hotel for a reunion. We flew in from various locations to meet. Hotel was booked 2 weeks in advance and eight minutes before check in our reservation was cancelled! Manager on location had zero people skills and offered no help or explanation. Upon returning home I called the General Manager and demanded an explanation. He promised to get back . Two emails were sent no reply and no phone call. Three weeks later still no answer!
Do yourself a favor stay somewhere else!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolasDaeppen, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for contacting us and do apologize for the lack of responsiveness from our management team. I certainly understand your frustration about arriving at the hotel and finding out that your reservation had been cancelled. We failed to pro-actively contact you, when we found out that your third party agent overbooked you at our hotel. They were contacted and we were ensure that they would take care of contacting you and booking you to another hotel. Once again we apologize for not being swift in our follow up and feel free to contact me at ndaeppen@thehighlinehotel.com to discuss further. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The High Line Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Line Hotel

Address: 180 Tenth Avenue, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The High Line Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The High Line Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The High Line Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.