We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - good fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ABC Cocina

ABC Cocina
38 E 19th St, New York City, NY 10003 (Flatiron District)
212-677-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
ABC Cocina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #469 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Broadway and Park Ave
Nebraska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food - good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Four of us had a good time over good food at ABC Cocina. Let me get the following out of the way. If you do not like to be packed in and if you do not like to eat in a loud restaurant, then you may not like ABC Cocina because the seats are packed in and the place is loud. Period

Everything we had was good. Lots of sharing with small plates. Guacamole with chips and grapefruit salsa, roasted califlower, sweet potato stuffed empanadas, crispy fish tacos and chicken with rice and lemon zest. Topped it off with a plate of cookies. Dinner for 4 including one glass of wine or one drink each plus all of the above totaled $186 not including tip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    58
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great vibe, pretty good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went for brunch, the guacamole is delicious, the spicy ham and cheese fritters, very good, the baby calamari stuffed with chorizo was ok, maybe too small of a dish. The tuna burger was fantastic, the best of the afternoon, the salmon was ok, the crispy fish sandwich pretty good if you like olives paste, crispy fish tacos, non eventful. For dessert we had the passion fruit sunday, it was pretty good. We also had a bottle of Argentinian bonarda, excellent! The place is beautiful with a great vibe. The service is proper but somewhat impersonal. Will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food in a romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I think a great restaurant needs great atmosphere and this one definitely has it. We had two carafes of the Malbec (although if we stuck with jus one it would have been plenty), the shrimp, the chicken tacos and the arroz con pollo (basically a paella) and it was all outstanding. We ended with the mixed plate of cookies which added a nice sweetness to the end of the meal. Our waitstaff was attentive without interrupting our meal, and made good suggestions. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere amazing flavor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. All small plates and of the 5 we tried all of them were excellent. Wonderful and interesting favors with a Latin flare. The decor is well done adding a hip feel to the restaurant. The fried sardines stood out because it is something I would not normally order however the server said it was one of the chefs favorites, it was delicious. The house made habanero sauce is amazing! For dessert we had the tres leches with apple cajeta it was also delicious. I am pretty sure you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“What an experience, it just did not stop, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went with a group of about 14 people. We had reservations and someone took care of ordering the tapas. They were all excellent…some just amazing.

It has a very hip feeling inside. Owned by Michelin star winning chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten, and he knows a successful concept. Very fun inside.

We came from a function and it was about 6:30 PM. We were incredibly hungry. The others arrived 20 minutes prior to our arrival. It appeared a course or two already had been served. As soon as we sat town, they did not stop - the courses of tapas.

To say they served pork and fish taco's would not do them justice. They were really tasty. Perfect. I cannot tell you all of the courses, but they included shrimp with sizzling garlic and chili oil, crunchy calamari with an ancho chili glaze, crispy fish tacos with a grilled jalapeño salsa, pork tacos, cashews, apples, and jalapeño chili pickle, beef tenderloin "burnt ends" and chimichurri sauce, and a rice dish. This was about half of what was ordered.

we also had something for dessert…it involved chocolate.

It was fun with a large group…I highly recommend this restaurant. It was a fine and delicious evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABC Cocina also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to ABC Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.