We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   307 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 447 hotels in New York City
Toronto, ON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

On a family trip to New York, we wanted to stay near Broadway and decided on this wonderful hotel. Friendly staff - always a smile! And accommodating - we had requested an early check-in (noon-ish), and a late checkout (1 pm) and no problem with either, which was greatly appreciated. Hotel is clean and modern. Rooms are large by NYC standards. Our room faced 37th St., but it was quiet at night. Great location - walking distance from so many tourist attractions and food. Great hair dryers! Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are happy to hear your stay was comfortable and enjoyed our friendly staff here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your next visit in the Big Apple.

David Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    62
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
66
54
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice hotel very close to Times Sqaure but far enough away that you are not mobbed with people and sounds etc. Very quick walk to Times Square. Asked front desk for food recommendation and she sent us to Schnippers? Sounded like an interesting place, looked even more "interesting" when we got there, almost left... THEN we ordered and it was great. Almost fast food type, but all fresh and the place was PACKED with New Yorkers... you know that is a good sign because they know where to go to eat!!!
All in all, really nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Our Staff often has their meal breaks at Schnipper's. Great food! Thank you for the great comments regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We hope the next time you come will be for leisure instead of business.

David Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spend a night in the city to celebrate a birthday and selected this new Courtyard hotel due to its central location and fair price. Right around the corner from Penn Station. Received a 20% discount by pre-paying at time of reservation. Have never been disappointed at a Marriott and this was no exception! The décor was clean, modern and welcoming. The change from a big check in desk to the kiosks brought the staff out in the lobby as you checked in, which we found to encourage friendly conversation. Love the "coffee nook" in the rooms and found it to be larger than most in NYC at this price point. Beautiful courtyard to sit outside for breakfast, but the food didn't match the atmosphere. Might have just caught it at a bad time, but found that to be the only area that needs to improve. Would recommend and will be back.

Room Tip: Any room would be great... we were near the elevator and didn't hear a sound while inside our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are honored that you chose the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West to celebrate your Birthday! Thank you for your patronage and your comments regarding our new hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again in the near future.

David Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in mid-June and had an excellent time. The hotel was very clean and all staff were incredibly friendly. The rooms are very well laid out and have everything you need. The hotel did an excellent job with the room decorations. The location is excellent. You are 4 blocks away from the Port Authority Bus Terminal and about the same distance from Penn Station. Times Square, Herald Square and the High Line Park are also pretty close by. We really enjoy walking so it was a great location with quick access to the subway as well. A big plus for us was also the free wi-fi. At the end of the day, sometimes you just want to come back and watch a movie on netflix. This hotel allows you to do that. I don't understand why more hotels don't offer free wi-fi. Anyway, I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go with a higher floor. The hotel is near 8th avenue which is pretty busy during the day. But its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for all the wonderful comments regarding your hotel stay here at Courtyard Times Square West. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and received great service from our Associates. I will definitely pass along your comments to our Associates. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York.

David Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am thrilled to have found this hotel. Our stay was wonderful. Everyone there was pleasant, outgoing, and helpful. I visited the hotel with my mother who is 78 and my 3 boys. The staff was friendly and eager to assist us with our needs: taxi's, room changes/additions (our flight was canceled), broadway shows, food choices, laundry, and so much more... The rooms were comfortable, roomy, and quiet for NYC. The Bistro was inviting and served Starbucks coffee-a wonderful surprise. Internet was fast and free - there were lots of opportunity for charging electronics in the room and in the bistro. The rate was very competitive, in fact a senior rate was given (a savings of $50/room). I would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent hotel and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experiences here at the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are happy to hear that you and your family took advantage of all the numerous amenities our hotel has to offer. I will share your wonderful comments with our Staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I found this hotel at the last minute. It is a newly built garment district hotel close to Times Square. The staff is wonderful! When I checked in, I was really worried about the street noise. It is busy during the day but the street turns quiet after 8 pm. Mary at the front desk called house keeping numerous times to find the perfect room. I stayed in room 1410 with 2 queen beds that was in the back of the hotel which is facing a residential building. The rooms are about 300 square ft, so with 3 people we were very comfortable. The beds are great. Mini fridge and safe were quite useful. Pillows were very adequate.. Large and soft. The Bistro downstairs had a decent breakfast. Bistro's area was nice and inviting with great seating and plenty of tvs. The bellman actually walk to 8th street and hail you a cab right to the front door.. even in the rain! If you worry about NYC attitude among the staff, this is not the place! Congrats Marriott, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms that face residential building in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Fantastic!! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us a Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Staff and I take great pride in providing outstanding service for our guests. I will pass on your comments to Mary and our entire Staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Have a Great Weekend!

David Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Located on a very busy street in midtown, but surprisingly quiet inside. The usual small rooms for NYC, but e everything was brand new. No view from our room, just brick buildings, Staff was friendly and helpful, especially the concierge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the brand new Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding the service you received from our Staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York City.

Best regards,

David Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West

Address: 307 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 447 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.