We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Brunch in East Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
77 St Marks Pl, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)
(212) 777-2537
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Palapa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,603 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: 6 train to Astor Place, R train to 8th Street/NYU, F train to 2nd Avenue, and L train to 14th Street.
Description: La Palapa combines authentic Mexican home cooking with a festive bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere which makes for the perfect place to dine or celebrate any occasion! We specialize in "Mexico City style" tacos and quesadillas and regional home cooking. Our menu includes such dishes as Tacos al Pastor, Mole Negro Oaxaqueno, Salsa Pibil and many other specialties from different regions of Mexico. Our Margaritas are all made with fresh juices and are delicious, especially when you add house made hibiscus aqua fresca and a chile-piquin salted rim! We have many flavors from the traditional fresh lime to mango, blood-orange, ginger, tamarind, wild blueberry and more! Refreshing Mexican beer cocktails, such as the Michelada and the Chelada are even given special attention at La Palapa. We also have an extensive tequila selection, cocktail and beer menu. La Palapa is available for catering on or off premise. We specialize in creating menus for private parties and events.
Westchester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Brunch in East Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My group of 5 friends had brunch at La Palapa 77 St Mark's Place this past Saturday, 12/8/12 and we all loved it! There was a great selection of food and it was all delicious! There was a special brunch menu with good prices and even better Margarita that came with it. Most of us ordered off the regular menu and everyone ordered something different yet we all thought it was great and would definitely return. The one thing that wasn't so pleasant was how loud it got during our time there. When we first sat down at 1PM it was fine but by 2PM we could barely hear each other.

Our waitress was a doll too! Very nice experience before a 3PM Off-Broadway play right around the block (Stomp).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food in the E.V.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Finally, a mexican restaurant in NYC that actually serves authentic mexican (as opposed to Tex-Mex) food! (spoilers: No Burritos in the menu!). The Chef was born and raised in Mexico, and you can tell right away; the flavours are right, the combinations are correct, and you can find things on the menu that you will find nowhere else in this city (e.g. Cochinita Pibil, Arrachera al Tequila).

Their Barbacoa meat is particularly good. Great selection of Mexican beers and delicious margaritas!

Their brunch is a must: there's no better way to survive a hangover than with their chilaquiles verdes with eggs and a michelada! You won't regret it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“great happy hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Review is for Happy Hour only.

4-7 is BOGO at the bar for margs. Be aware it is ONLY if you sit at the bar and the bar gets packed. Drinks are very good and they were strong which was nice because you'd expect otherwise for such a nice deal.

We ended up sitting at a table and also ordering some food. I skipped this dinner but had a bite of my husbands taco which was really good.

Service very slow at the beginning but otherwise no major issues. If you're looking for a good happy hour for some margs this is a good stop but arrive early!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A lot of food, but rather ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went to La Palapa hoping for a better than average Mexican brunch, but came away feeling like it was pretty ordinary. The huevos rancheros verde was sort of soupy. The mexican french toast (oxymoron?) had little Mexican about it. The special was the best item. The portions are huge, but similar food could be found at pretty much any other Mexican restaurant. The outdoor dining on St Marks Place is always entertaining, but only because of the street scene, not the La Palapa decor. Go for good basic Mexican, but don't expect creatively presented food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great flavors, friendly service and delicious margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We always enjoy a meal at La Palapa - flavors are clean and prices are good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.