We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid pizza with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Gruppo

Pizza Gruppo
98 AVE B (BTW 6-7 ST), Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10009 (East Village)
212-995-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,460 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: East Village
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Solid pizza with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Tried Gruppo for the first time. Very courteous staff. Ordered the classica with fresh mozzarella, tomatoes and basil. The pizza is cracker thin, so not like typical pizzas. But the toppings were gorgeous. The arugula salad was also really good with a fantastic dressing. If you are looking for authentic pizza, this is not the place, but it is definitely worth a try if you want something new and different. I would definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Thin Crust Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place has the best thin crust pizza. If I am ever in the area I try to stop in. They also deliver to a number of local bars in the area so it's a must to order a few pies.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Neighborhood favorite for sure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

yum yum YUM! I usually go here with a few friends, we split a few pies and get a few bottles of wine. After all is said and done we are paying $20 max with tip and tax which is a great deal! They have very affordable wine selections and the pizza is just cooked perfectly. They even have some outdoor benches if it isnt too hot out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent dine-in pizza and pasta restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Friends we were meeting for dinner live nearby and suggested this restaurant. We were there a bit on the late side and was able to walk right in and get a table for dinner. So not sure how crowded it might be earlier in the evenings. But if our experience was typical, then this is or should be a pretty popular neighborhood restaurant. We decided to order a bunch of different things and have everyone pick and try a little bit of everything. We tried a thin-crust mozzarella and tomato pie (I've seen other places refer to this style as Neopalontan) which was excellent. Of the pastas we tried, my favorite was the lasagna. Everyone enjoyed all the various dishes we tried with not one ho-hum response to anything. Service was friendly and efficient. A very nice dining room and the pictures on here (TA) do not serve it any justice. Very pleasant and clean.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“best thin crust you will have in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is simply the best thin crust pizza that you will eat in NYC. It is also moderately priced. The atmosphere is cozy. We lived in the neighborhood for several years, and this place is tops. Motorino is also excellent, although slightly more expensive. Enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Gruppo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pizza Gruppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Gruppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.