We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mexican Moles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Maguey y La Tuna

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Maguey y La Tuna
321 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)
212- 473-3919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Maguey y La Tuna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8,779 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: Attorney St.
Transit: Essex St (J, M, Z) Delancey St (F) 2 Av (F)
London, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Moles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were staying in Soho and I researched the surrounding area for places to eat. We wanted to make sure we visited a "good" Mexican restaurant while we were there, and I found El Maguey y La Tuna on Trip Advisor. Let me assure you - this place does not disappoint! I've only ever been to Mexican restaurants in London and the food here was absolutely nothing like we have in the UK - it was amazing.

Decor wise it's nothing special to look at - there's a small handful of tables covered with plastic table cloths and mismatched chairs. However, the moles are to die for! If you're unsure of which one to pick, they suggest trying two of the sauces with nachos and you can pick your favourite. They also have an excellent range of margaritas.

Of all the restaurants we visited during out stay, the bill here was by far the cheapest, and the food was definitely the best. If we are ever back in NYC then this will be the first restaurant we visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I agree with not what I expected but still good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The food and margaritas were good - our server was very nice too. But from the reviews I expecting more than white linoleum floors, mis matched diner tables lined up in rows - zero atmosphere. If you are just looking for mexican food you should be happy enough.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Meals from Homemade Receipes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very quaint restaurant, a bit cozy and a bit romantic. The owner is a very sweet woman who seems to appreciate her guests and tries to learn more about them, where we're from and what it is like for her to live there. We ordered the "Best Nachos Ever" as said on their menu, and also split a Jumbo Chicken Burrito. Everything was yummy and we finished it all. I would def come here again. They deliver too!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is my favourite of the restaurants we visited on our recent trip to New York. It's unassuming, welcoming and delicious. Our waiter was friendly and suggested which molés would best accompany our enchiladas and fajitas. After the meal (and several frozen margaritas) the owner, Maria, came and chatted to us. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful service! Delicious Mole!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband, our teenage daughter and I were visiting NYC over the Labor Day weekend. I had looked on TA for a Mexican restaurant that we could have dinner at and found El Maguey y La Tuna. The reviews sounded great so we decided to check it out. We made a reservation for 7:30 on a Saturday night and when we arrived, we were promptly greeted and seated. The restaurant was empty, but by the time that we left, it was fairly full. The atmosphere is very homey and comfortable.

We asked our waiter, Lino (not sure of spelling), to go over the menu and explain the different Mole sauces since we were not familiar with them. He said that each was homemade and made fresh. He brought over a sample of each mole and then described each one as we tasted it. Our daughter got the carne asada fajitas and we settled on a chicken enchilada with mole poblano sauce. Both dishes were excellent but the enchilada was outstanding...you could really taste all of the fresh ingredients that went into making it. I also got a margarita and my husband got the sangria. Both were homemade and absolutely delicious! A nice touch was a slice of delicious Flan that we all shared.

As we were leaving, Lino came outside to say goodbye to us. We really appreciated the personal and attentive service that we received during our visit. We will certainly be back on our next visit to NYC!! Thanks for a great dining experience!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Maguey y La Tuna also viewed

 

Been to El Maguey y La Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Maguey y La Tuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.