We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NADA Sushi Restaurant INC

NADA Sushi Restaurant INC
135 E 50th St, Frnt 3, New York City, NY 10022-7504 (Midtown)
212-838-2537
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,940 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The service was good. The presentation of the food was very simple. The Alaskan roll, with salmon and avocado was very good. Had a hot sake, a seaweed salad and three rolls, all for $40 including a 20% tip. Very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ATL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice! Good Japanese Food, Average to Good Sushi, Reasonably Priced..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant meal for four on a Saturday night. 50th street is a war zone due to construction - this may be effecting business as we walked in around 6:45 p.m. and the place was not crowded.

Let's get one thing straight - it's not excellent sushi. Certainly doesn't hold a candle to Japan or Honolulu. It's decent, maybe good. However, the other Japanese dishes we sampled were all delicious.

Edamame, served hot, is fresh and tasty. Tako (octopus) and cucumber salad was excellent as was the gyoza. Three of us had the seaweed salad - tastes a lot like the H Mart version.

Service was attentive but not fawning. $150 plus tip that included 3 large Kirin beers, at least 8 sushi rolls plus the deluxe nigiri dinner and appetizers. Nice find in NYC.

I recommend having sushi as light apps and digging in deep for the rest of the fine Japanese fare at Nada.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Both the appetizers -- seaweed salad and gyouzu -- were perfectly prepared and the proportions ideal. All the sushi was fresh and assembled in attractive mouth-size bites. The service towards the end was a bit slow, but it *WAS* Friday* night, so one makes allowances.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly wonderful and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We chose Nada at the last minute when the rooftop bar at the Kimberly was closed for a private function. I confess I initially had rather low expectations. Everything about the restaurant is understated and low key. It looks like more of a neighborhood joint than an upscale sushi restaurant. This is deceiving because the sushi was of very good quality. My husband very much enjoyed his deluxe sushi platter. We all enjoyed the miso soup. Our friend enjoyed the warm saki. We arrived early when there were plenty of tables. As the night wore on, a funky mix of people slowly filled the restaurant: a band, a few industrial strength nerds (who will likely own Manhattan someday), a couple of families, and business people looking to escape business restaurants. Our waiter was attentive but never overbearing. And even though we stayed quite a long time, well after we finished eating, we were never once chivied towards the door. Perhaps because we kept refilling our glasses. :-) Last but not least, we loved our window seat table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nada has a clean, understated and calm ambience, just what we needed after a day running around the city. The menu is great, the staff attentive. We tired several rolls and sushi, all were wonderful, but I'll always remember Nada for being the first place I had eggplant with miso paste. Delicious! Prices very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NADA Sushi Restaurant INC also viewed

 

Been to NADA Sushi Restaurant INC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NADA Sushi Restaurant INC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.