We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teodora

Teodora
141 East 57th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)
(212) 826-7101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,177 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great local italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great local restaurant, perfect for a local business lunch. It is a bit cramped, but that adds to the charm. Waiters are friendly, and food is reliably good, be it pasta or entries.

They also have an upstairs with larger tables that are great for semi private dining, perfect for groups from 10 - 20.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    36
    28
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“small and good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

good prices and good food. It is a place that close to our hotel and it serves good italian food, nice service, not a fancy restaurant but a place you can go more than once.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Italian heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a wonderful, quiet meal here. Pasta, seafood and dessert were all impeccably prepared and served. A true taste of Italy in midtown Manhattan and very well priced. Can't think of anything negative to say.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came upon this local italian restaurant quite by accident but what a lucky accident it was. A reasonable specials list, generous but not overly copious servings, excellent cooking and attentive cooking, all without having to remortgage the house, what more could a hungry tourist ask for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Roberta's Teodora is Italy in New York Beyond Compare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

To walk in off the 57th street sidewalk is to walk into an Italian home - a small villa, with groaning wooden floors, the peaceful tranquility of a country oasis of solace and most of all, into an aviary of flying Italian flavors or aromas. My last visit I do not recall the date of so I put July 2012 - but I have taken numerous friends and family there - always always with great raves from all.

The food - indescribably good. The food is so amazing that I cannot go into details - I am serious. You must experience it. To describe the wonder and the beauty of this eating experience would be like describing my first kiss. No one would understand that moment on that Bucknell University bench in the moonlight outside Vaughn Literature but I would re-experience it no less passionately. Go. Eat. And let Roberta know that Vike sent you - for that evening in Rome with her and her family at her sister's restaurant, La Rosetta, is no less warmly etched upon my mind though a year or two have passed. And what better qualifications can an Italian Restauranteur in Manhattan have than to have a sister with an even finer restaurant in Rome itself? Bellisimo!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teodora also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Teodora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teodora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.