We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie

Brasserie
100 E 53rd St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)
(212) 751-4840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,516 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Lexington and Park
Transit: E, M, and 6 trains
Portsmouth NH
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Classic French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellent well prepared food, good service, nice ambiance, spacious well lit room with large table and lots of space. Well priced wine list and desserts. Busy bar, elegant and old school. Fabulous steak frites, baguettes at every table with lots of French butter. Good for a business meting or a romantic dinner for two.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras H, General Manager at Brasserie, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Brasserie. As the General Manager of the restaurant, it was a pleasure to read your very kind words and I wanted to express my sincere thanks.

We’re all very grateful for your patronage and truly look forward to having you visit again in the near future. Please feel free to call me directly at the restaurant anytime we can be of service to you, your friends, and your family. I can be reached at AHamza@patinagroup.com or by phone: 1-212-751-4840.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

András Hamza
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    96
    42
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Classic French Brasserie in a Mad Men Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went there for brunch on New Year's Day. The best feature of this restaurant is its setting. It is located in the Seagram Building and has been there since the building opened in the late 50s. The atmosphere is right out of Mad Men. Very mid-century modern. And if you like martini's with your lunch/brunch, these are very good. But caution--they are strong! My red and yellow beet salad was excellent as was the french onion soup. Service was a acceptable, though not as attentive as it could have been. But the server was pleasant and competent. The eggs on my eggs Benedict were cooked perfectly. The prix fixe brunch menu was very reasonable for NYC.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Do Rio Preto, SP
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Very hip place. Decoration is modern. One of the best foie gras I've ever had. Try the delicious ice wines they have for dessert.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andras H, General Manager at Brasserie, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Brasserie. As the General Manager of the restaurant, it was a pleasure to read your very kind words and I wanted to express my sincere thanks.

We’re all very grateful for your patronage and truly look forward to having you visit again in the near future. Please feel free to call me directly at the restaurant anytime we can be of service to you, your friends, and your family. I can be reached at AHamza@patinagroup.com or by phone: 1-212-751-4840

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.


Sincerely,

András Hamza
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Modern, excellent - not just for business lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I believe the Brasserie is most noted for it's business lunches, due to it's location. However, we had an excellent dinner there on a Saturday night. The room has a modern, sophisticated, yet very comfortable ambiance. Our booth was private and quiet. We had a $35 prix fixe dinner- lobster gratin app ($5 up-charge, but worth it) an excellent bouillabaisse, and chocolate torte dessert- all delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice, modern decor but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Dined here on a business trip. Seemed to be very popular and highly rated but was a bit of a disappointment. Has a decent and eclectic wine list that I appreciated. Service was generally good all around (front desk, bar, restaurant). As for the food, the onion soup (their signature dish) was very good especially on a cold nite. I'd been jonesing for some cassoulet recently but what Brasserie served was a complete disappointment. Has a nice compliment of meats (duck confit, garlic sausage, pork belly) but the duck was dry and the beans were still hard and under-cooked and obviously had not simmered the requisite time to blend the flavors and make the beans and sauce creamy. Probably would not return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.