We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petrossian Restaurant

Petrossian Restaurant
182 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-245-2214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Petrossian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #627 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $65
Cuisines: French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Southeast corner of 58th Street and 7th Avenue
Transit: N, W, R & Q trains to 57th Street; A, B, C & 1 trains to Columbus Circle.
Description: Founded in 1984, New York Petrossian restaurant is housed in the historic Alwyn Court Building on Manhattan's West Side, one block from Carnegie Hall and four blocks from Lincoln Center. Owned by the Petrossians, it serves a French-influenced contemporary menu that features the caviar, smoked fish, and foie gras delicacies for which Petrossian is known throughout the world. Lunch, dinner, & brunch can be enjoyed at either the art deco style mirrored bar or in the dining room. Designed by Ion Oroveanu, the restaurant features Lalique crystal wall sconces, bronze sculptures from the 1930's, etched Erte mirrors, Lanvin chandelier and pink Finnish granite, all harmonizing to create a visual ambiance that can be savored equally with the unsurpassed gourmet experience.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just one block away from Central Park, a great place for dinner, nice atmosphere, food was excellent. We recommend the duck breast and lobster risotto. Service also great!! Definitely going back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Old world and proud of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a pre-Carnegie Hall concert meal. We arrived about 5 which was early, but we didn't want to be in a rush. When we indicated we were there for a light pre-concert meal, and not eating off the dinner menu we were asked to sit at the bar. We thought that odd, but then were served by a wonderful young man named Elton, who gave us such a royal treatment that we never minded sitting at the bar. The old world Art Deco design has seen so many people in its time, but we found the decor comfortable and like being in a classic old European bar. We ordered a lovely bottle of wine, oysters, pate and steak tartare, just savoring the elegant flavors. And the flavors were superb; oysters plump and fresh, and the pate a wonderful texture accented with caviar. Our service was flawless, attentive, not smothering, and so accommodating when we needed extra toast points or small little chocolates after we declined desserts but our server thought we needed something sweet. Still aren't sure why we couldn't sit at the tables since the place was half empty when we left, but we were the richer for our experience, all by ourselves, at the bar with good food, drink and a waiter who really cared.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good but not sublime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A lunch with a special friend, the prix fixe option. Food was what you would expect for the price. Service was perfunctory. Decor was elegant. But an oasis in mid town, for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Elegant setting, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The motif at Petrossian's is amiongs the most impressive in NYC, the architecture is amazing, the food is wonderful, and the service is special

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great restaurant week lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stopped in for lunch during restaurant week and was so glad I did! I started with smoked salmon and a nice glass of champagne, both of which were excellent. My entree was duck breast - again excellent - and I finished with a very tasty chocolate caramel tart. I felt a little underdressed (Hey, it's winter and I was walking around for several hours) but the staff made me feel right at home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrossian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Petrossian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petrossian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.