We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Per Se

Per Se
10 Columbus Circle, Time Warner Building, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
(212) 823-9335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Per Se is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 60th Street
Transit: 1,9,B,D,A,C to Columbus Circle
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Strange place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Some very nice dishes and some staff were really nice. But- no one to greet you at entrance, toilets filthy with urine on floor, some dishes had same ingredients, the meat dishes really were fatty and uninspired. Generally all savoury dishes were boring with some sauces quite overpowering- like the black bean sauce with lamb. Plus the ipad for wine list is a gimmick but unhelpful cos when I waded through 150 pages and saved several wines to discuss with sommelier they were erased!! Expensive at over $500 per person. Stuffy and dark.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    106
    63
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“poetic experience ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I visit NYC. every August.

been dying. to eat at per se
the veiw was like seeing. an life sized oil painting while dinning.
be sure to reserve table with a view.
I had the tasting. for $310
very expensive I agree.
but worth every bite.
the food kept coming served by professional staff
the roasted. veggies were insane
the meal was too yummy for mere words
Pure culinary art on a plate
this is one of NY finest restaurants!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great veiw, service and food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Me and my sister went back again. Service was excellent. They change menu everyday so they printed our name on menu. Some dishes were ok but most of them were amazing… Per Se never disappointed us so far. We will go back again for sure !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is an experience not a meal-and it's a good one. Be ready to spend hours here and enjoy some of the best food of your life. Amazing wine list. Top notch service. My wife even got a tour of the kitchen-big deal to her. Only marks off are for value. Not complaining-I knew exactly what I was getting into and have no problem with it. Enjoy to all future patrons.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GREAT MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had the tasting menu of course and everything was fabulous. Try though difficult to save a little room for dessert as it keeps coming and coming.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Per Se also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Per Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Per Se, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.