We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lunch with a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nougatine at Jean Georges

Nougatine at Jean Georges
1 Central Park West, Trump International Hotel, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)
(212) 299-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nougatine at Jean Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #903 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 60th St. and 61st Streets
Transit: A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.
Description: Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.
Shohola, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

Staff super attentive. Stopped here for lunch on our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Waited at the bar since we were early. Young staff, but knowledgeable. Loved all the "old' drinks on the bar menu. Also a huge wine selection in all price ranges. You can order a taste a glass or a bottle. Ordered a Lime Ricky. Was we made and enjoyable. We decided to go with the Prix Fixed lunch. 3 courses. Appetizer, Entree and dessert. Good variety of choices. Restaurant has very clean lines, open kitchen and bar.
Can't say enough about the staff. Didn't miss anything. Perfect service.
There wasn't anything to dislike about our visit.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    142
    51
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cutting edge style and great food in the Big Apple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

This is a very active evening out in a crisp, elegant interior. The food is exceptional and the service impeccable. You are greeted at the door and your coats are immediately taken to the coat check by the staff. This is the kind of place where your water glass is always full. After every course all the silver, and plates are removed and replaced by clean. The staff is extremely attentive. The Nougatine uses the same kitchen and chef staff as the adjoining Jean Georges elite restaurant. The upside is the quality and diversity of the food. The downside is all the food going into the very exspensive restuarant is carried between the Nougatine bar and seating area. Unless you request a table by the window expect a lot of traffic to go by your table. All in all we were very pleased with our experience.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicatessen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

I went for lunch to Nougatine last week and really enjoyed it- Although the receptionist was a bit uptight the waiter was pleasant- The place is small and not cozy-- We order appetizers (the tuna tartar and artichokes were delicious) followed by a lobster burger and chocolate volcano cake...it was an interesting experience-

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good if not loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

Except food and service. Sit by the window if you can. Bar scene spills over into cafe and unforgiving beautiful floors offer no buffer.
Must have: foie gras (although there was way too much of seperate bowl of lemon curd).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A bustling place, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The location in the Trump hotel ensures fascinating people watching! We all enjoyed our food - the starters chosen (roasted fennel salad, artichoke, tuna tartare) were all delicious! When a gluten issue was raised, fresh GF bread appeared on the table immediately which was very impressive. Our mains (veal milanese, Hake, salmon and chicken) were all wonderfully prepared. This was a high end treat for us and we weren't disappointed. The only down part of the experience was the cool draft that came through the door every time the door opened. We asked early on if there was another table and were told no although we noticed two nearby tables remained unoccupied throughout our meal.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nougatine at Jean Georges also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nougatine at Jean Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nougatine at Jean Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.