We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must in NY wonderful atmosphere, perfect service, wonderful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York

Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York
80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Midtown)
+1 212-805-8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #544 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 60th Street between Broadway and 9th Avenue
Transit: 1, B, D, A and C Trains
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must in NY wonderful atmosphere, perfect service, wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I was suggested to go there. I was very surprised, a wonderful experience. The view is legendary. You couldn't ask for more, but this is not all. The quality of the food is very high, and the service too. Our waiter was very present and smiling, but at the same time was not oppressive. Fully recommended. Go there you will leave the place with a big smile

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    156
    49
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best meal ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had the tasting menu which was incredible! Each course had beautiful presentation and was delicious! The view was unbelievable. This is a great place for a special occasion or nice business dinner. Be prepared to spend a lot, but it will be worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best view of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Courteous and professional staff, paired with delectable food (if it's to your liking) and the best view of the city while eating dinner. If you're a seafood fanatic, you'll love it, if not (like my wife) it will be difficult for you to find food that is to your tasting, either way, it is an experience you'll never forget.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Fantastic view over Central Park, but we had to be asked to a table that could see it. The restaurant obliged with no fuss.

We had the tasting menu with the accompanying wines. The food was excellent, if a little long on fish for my personal taste. However the flavours were original and fresh. The wines that came with it were sound, but i didn't think that they were as good as the food and perhaps tried to be a little too different when a good quality more mainstream wine would have been perfect. We went for a cocktail after in the bar next door which capped the evening perfectly.

The tasting menu here is at the top end of the price range for these things.

Our booking was at 7pm and it was a treat to see the sun set and the city light up.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“NYC: Asiate, a Restaurant with a Spectacular View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Did I enjoy my two-hour dining experience at an amazing restaurant in New York City with an even more amazing view? I loved it. How could I not? The food was fantastic, and the service was superb. It was an experience. And who wouldn’t love being treated like royalty for a few hours? Even though I was alone, the staff was super attentive and referred to me as Ms. Pacelli all night long. My ego was pampered, my taste buds were happy. It was a fantastic evening in the city…

Read more about my experience, more detail about the food, etc. here: http://www.ginapacelli.com/2014/06/08/nyc-asiate-a-restaurant-with-a-spectacular-view/

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.