We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional meal, service and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York

Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York
80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Midtown)
+1 212-805-8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #544 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 60th Street between Broadway and 9th Avenue
Transit: 1, B, D, A and C Trains
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional meal, service and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

As others have mentioned, the view and meal is exceptional. We dined there a couple of weeks ago, gorgeous autumn day, window table overlooking Central Park. But what sets this restaurant apart from others is the service. When making the reservation, I mentioned that this was my mom's first time in NY in over twenty years and requested a table with a view. Not only did they deliver with a table by the window, when they brought dessert over they had hand-written a note on the plate with chocolate welcoming her back to the city. Throughout the meal the service was attentive and warm, and we never felt rushed. We did the prix fixe lunch special that they offer
M-F which is a bargain at $34. The menu changes seasonally and you get to choose between two starters, three entrees and two desserts. Even with the minimal selections, making a choice was difficult. Everything looked great. We both had the butternut squash soup. I had the venison was perfectly cooked medium rare and was delicious, as well as my mom's lake fish (can't remember if it was walleye or sturgeon). Our choice of desserts were a chocolate panna cotta or an almond financier. Again, both were excellent. A great place to go for a weekday lunch especially if you are from out of town and doing a matinee at the Lincoln Center a few blocks uptown.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    156
    49
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We made a reservation for my Mother's Birthday and eventhough I have eaten at this venue before and it was very good I was very disappointed this time! THe food was fine and our seating was alright but oiur server was just unattentive. It was like he was in a RUSH to get us out. Part of fine dining is to be relaxed and it just seemed like he was totally disinterested. Eventhough all my party had dined at Asiate before the server was not helful when they asked questions about the dessert menu. When he brough t over he chjeck, he came by three timesto see if we had placeda credit card for payment. A restaurant of ths price range shoudn't rush any guest espiecally one celebrating a special Birthday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A feast for all the senses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our exceptional meal was enhanced by the breathtaking view! With each course, we were given explanations of the ingredients and cooking styles from the attentive staff. Understandably busy, the restaurant was an oasis - a romantic atmosphere with just the right "pace." We were not rushed and, in fact, were encouraged to enjoy sipping our cocktails while looking at the view. The tables for two were seemingly close, but they were surprisingly private. I did speak to the couple next to us, only because they were from Brussels and seemed open to a polite question. Asiate is a delight!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent service and food. Great view. We go back frequently and every visit is a treat! Staff is super friendly and helpful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Treat for the Soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stunning views of Central Park in a beautiful open dining environment is a treat for the soul. Service is unrushed and the food is brought just at the right moment. Wine selections from around the world compliment all dishes. We especially enjoyed the Asian cuisine that Asiate is renowned for. A must for anyone visiting New York City. Not recommended for a quick bite before going to a Broadway show. Enjoy the experience and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asiate at Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.