We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pub/restaurant in an over inflated and over hyped city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Reilly's Pub & Restaurant

O'Reilly's Pub & Restaurant
54 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3410 (Midtown)
(212) 684-4244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #999 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Dublin
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
470 helpful votes 470 helpful votes
“A good pub/restaurant in an over inflated and over hyped city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had to be in New York for four nights and our hotel was a few minutes' walk away from O'Reilly's. We ate and drank here on three of those nights! After a full day's activities, all you need is a reasonable bottle of wine, some wholesome food and a convivial atmosphere. O'Reilly's had all of this in spades. The bar and restaurant staff are chatty and friendly and the prices are reasonable for this over hyped city of high end and over blown restaurants. O'Reilly's comes highly recommended. Why bother with anything else if you are in the neighborhood?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    42
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stopped here couple of times in October for a beer and something quick to eat (the Pub was on my way back to the hotel from the Javits Center).
I ordered both times at the bar and beer + food were ready quickly. This place is a nice place to have a sit and talk. Quite a lot of people both times. The atmosphere was cheerful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This little pub is close to the Eventi hotel just off of 34th St. and Ave. of the Americas (6th Ave). it was walking distance for us for a late night dinner. The service was good, staff were friendly and the atmosphere was fun. Food and drink were typical pub fare and quite good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Westmeath, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“belfast bar tender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

called in here on our way to MSG one evening it was quiet enough at the time but the bar man was excellent and made us feel very welcome and often stopped for a chat in between serving. he also recomended food off the menu as we were undecided and it didnt disappoint it was very tasty. would defo return if in new york again

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stopped at the Hampton Inn MSG for a week so this was a bit of a local pub for us.
Went in twice for meals and a few beers so speaks for itself.
There was 5 of us all of whom really enjoyed both meals.
Big bonus for me was that it did one of the best pints of Boddingtons bitter i've had including hear in the UK. The staff are friendly and I/we would certainly return.
It also shows premier league football and obviously US sports on tv another bonus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Reilly's Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to O'Reilly's Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Reilly's Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.