We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Down for the Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe S.F.A.

Cafe S.F.A.
611 Fifth Ave at Saks Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)
(212) 940-4080
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe S.F.A. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,408 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thumbs Down for the Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The food is not worth the price at all. We went there with our kids, and just two breakfast dishes with a couple of juices came out to $30! The atmosphere is nice, as is the view of Rockefeller center, and our server was very nice and welcoming. The food wasn't good. We ordered a fruit and cheese plate. The grapes were rotten, and there were a few pieces of blue cheese. No other kinds, just blue. We also ordered a dish of pastries, which came out to be a blueberry scone with a maximum of two blueberries in it, one mini chocolate pastry, and one small croissant (very small). Nothing special at all about these pastries. You can find a better and larger croissant at a local grocery store for a cheaper price. My kids were still hungry and we kept on asking for more bread. Overall, if you're hungry after a day of shopping at Saks, try somewhere out in the city, because the food was bad and way too expensive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    19
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were in Manhattan for our annual trip to see the RC tree and Saks window. It was pouring, so we stopped into Saks (truth be told, my wife was looking for a pair of gloves). She asked me if I wanted to have lunch at Saks...I didn't know that they HAD a restaurant...and I agreed.

The food was great, the service fantastic. A bit pricey, but not unexpectedly so.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Special Lunch at Saks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We recently were in NY the week before Christmas. I called ahead for reservations, but they only take them for groups of 6 or more. We were a group of 4. However the polite girl on the phone said there is usually no wait, or a short one, after 1:30. So we arrived at 2:00 with no wait. We were seated at a window overlooking the Rockefeller Christmas tree! All servers were very attentive. Our order came quickly. The cheeseburger, chicken sandwich with soup & salad, and the grilled gruyere with tomato sandwich were all wonderful! And I must mention the basket of rolls and bread we enjoyed while waiting for our meal! Just the right variety of baked goods, especially the pretzel croissant. We asks for a second basket!
Overall this was an enjoyable lunch! Total cost each, including non-alcoholic drinks was about $30. Exactly what you would expect for a special lunch in NY, but this included the view and the amazing merchandise and decorations in Saks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Packed Restaurant, Decent Food, slightly Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The Cafe SFA at Saks 5th Avenue had decent food at lunch time. Staff very friendly and professional. The wait was about 25 minutes mid-day. I would recommend the lunch special with soup, salad and 1/2 sandwich. The flavored spiced, apple unsweetened ice tea was excellent. Take a break from shopping and try the restaurant. It was a nice break with good food.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Our first visit to Saks & hopefully not our last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My partner, daughter & her husband had a late lunch here on our 3 night stay in New York. The food & service was excellent & the price was very reasonable for the quality. We chose to share a bottle of Prosecco with lunch as it wasn't too expensive. We sat by a window with a view along 5th Avenue. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe S.F.A. also viewed

 

Been to Cafe S.F.A.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe S.F.A., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.