We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good Morrocan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbes Restaurant

Barbes Restaurant
21 E 36th St, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)
(212) 684-0215
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,381 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A very good Morrocan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It almost felt like we were personal guest as everyone was serving us and trying to make us feel comfortable. The food is good and the atmosphere is very nice. It's a bit crowded and we came mid-week. Not sure if they take reservations. We like to have a local wine to match the food and the Moroccan wine was a nice surprise.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    35
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

a charming little place but some glitches with what i am sure they thought was clever marketing but seemed like sneaky selling?

bottled water on the table when we arrived? cous cous side dish suggested but the $5 price tag (for a small bowl) not divulged, and some dishes (vegetable tagine) a bit overpriced...some things (appetizers) were more tasty than others (tagine) but with a bit of additional seasoning all could be awesome...

the staff was sweet and that helped but full disclosure would be better! tables very close together so if you are looking for privacy, this may not be your best choice :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite and be prepared to be wowed!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Such a lovely, romantic little restaurant and the owner is so pleasant!! Everything was so delicious!! The pastilla is out of this world...both savory and sweet! The couscous is cooked perfectly! The duck confit with beets and lentils was AMAZING!!! The hummus was a bit bland. I thought it needed a little more garlic, but the olives that garnished it helped. It's located right next door to the Gingerman so if there's a wait, you can grab yourself a great brew!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Barbes is one of my favorite NYC restaurants. I have been going there for years ever since a coworker first introduced me and everyone that I have since taken there also seems to fall in love with this little gem. The warm welcome of the host, the attentive service, and wonderful food wins over everyone that I have brought there. The music and decor enhances the exotic charm of the very cozy space. I love the grilled bronzino, duck breast, casino royale, and I especially love the special dessert that is wonderful to share. Order tea and watch the waitress skillfully pour the scalding tea from high up into the tiny cup with awe-inspiring skill. It can get very crowded so I would highly recommend reservations. It's a great place for a dinner date, business lunch, get together with friends, and entertaining guests from out of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not happy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was the hostess for a group that other than myself happened to be all men. I specifically asked to be given the bill at the beginning of the meal, but of course, it was given to the oldest man present.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbes Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Barbes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbes Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.