We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return to Civilization” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Berulia

Villa Berulia
107 E 34th St, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)
(212) 689-1970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,098 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York City
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A return to Civilization”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just blocks from the Empire State and an easy walk from Grand Central, this restaurant should get far more attention than it does...the cooking is wonderful - good pastas, excellent and very fresh fish, outstanding veal specialities- with a very reasonable wine list with some sale prices on the higher end stuff (this is not a Gaja type restuarant but you can definitely do something moderate and interesting) The space is lovely, tables are well spaced, service is attentive and pricing is more than fair, rather moderate for midtown. And you can have a private conversation without sharing it with the next table. Highly recommend. good for family groups as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Dined here with friends who are regulars. I can see why they keep coming back. Excellent food and service. Had soup that evening that was a special for the day. Mushroom,white bean was absolutely delicious.Visit this neighborhhood restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great choice for Italian on East 34th Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were in NYC the end of September and searched a restaurant for 4 of us. We sought a restaurant online that had a good reputation, and we wanted Italian. Without a reservation, we walked up to Villa Berulia, which was about 4 blocks from our hotel. Apparently, it was the owner that greeted us, a very dignified gentleman in a gray suit and he took us to our table in the front section of the restaurant, which is best described as barrel or tunnel shaped. We figured it was probably meant to look like a wine barrel in its earlier years and had been painted over to make it feel not so confined. It worked, whatever it was.

Promptly a waiter took our order and made us feel comfortable. The whole experience was wonderful. Each of our dinners was excellent, and the drinks were either what we expected or better. You really can't mess up a standard martini much, but a poor choice of wine selections in a restaurant would cause us to downgrade any establishment. I'm happy to inform, the wine was excellent. As I said, there wasn't any complaint we could think about this place, it was a good choice. Near the end of our dinner, and while enjoying a good conversation, the owner came to our table and asked about our experience, which we reported as being excellent. When he walked away, our waiter came back with a complimentary round of drinks on the house. What a pleasant surprise!

One interesting thing about this place is it seems a lot of older visitors were escorted to the second section of the restaurant - we figured this is probably reserved for the "regulars" who come to this place often. That space was a little larger and a little more like a place we are used to dining. I can't complain about our seats in the front, which are probably for the one-time guests, it was still very pleasant, but we would like to sit in the main part on our next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Cosy Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food but service was rushed. Casual atmosphere. Would definitely recommend for authentic Italian food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Very Good Food in Civilized Surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a treat. The food is very good, bordering on outstanding. We shared an antipasto and Caesar's salad, both quite good. Lamb shanks and grilled tuna followed. The lamb was amoung the best I've had in the US - tasty and tender in a wonderful sauce. The accompanying gnocchi was just OK. The tuna was prepared perfectly!

The service was very professional and courteous.

The atmosphere was quiet and comfortable. Tables were well spaced.

This is a great place for couples or small business groups. They are running a very fine establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Berulia also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Villa Berulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Berulia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.