We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, comfortable meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Laguna Restaurant

Osteria Laguna Restaurant
209 E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017-5701 (Manhattan)
212-557-0001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Laguna Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,482 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues
Transit: The 4, 5, 6, 7 & S Subways to 42nd Street/Grand Central.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious, comfortable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it was convenient- we were staying across the street at the Westin Grand Central and needed a quick meal. We weren't sure what we were gonna get with such spontaneity, but we were pleasantly surprised! This place was a winner. It has a great atmosphere; perfect lighting, close tables but not too close, and great for all size groups (families with kids, big parties, etc). The menu is a bit pricey, but we were able to order some of the less expensive items and still have a great meal. I shared the Pollo Al Limone and the Ravioli Di Salmone with my mother and both were DELICIOUS (mmm my stomach is growling just thinking about it......). Especially the salmon ravioli, which I was a little hesitant about, was savory and creamy and perfect. Plus the service was great and the meal was quick. Awesome place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    100
    37
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Brunch - with a twist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Wandering aimlessly to fin a place for a late breakfast, I opted to try this place because it had a big 'Brunch' sign in the window.
The bread that was delivered with the water was my idea of heaven: crusty with a bottle of extra virgin olive oil!
I decided to have bruschetta to start which was tasty (and unusually, flavoured with a hint of fennel)

The three egg omelette with onion and mushroom was just as l like it - and it was served with a salad and a side of fries! Not top of the healthy eating choices but exactly what I wanted on a damp and dreary morning.
Service was good though I don't think I saw any Italians and the bill was surprisingly reasonable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good value and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great for a casual fast meal before a show and good value for dinner. Good service and simple food. Good for a drink at the bar when the hotel bar across the road is closed

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stopped into this restaurant when we first checked into our hotel (across the road-Westin). We wanted a quick bite to eat and ended up eating a full meal. They have a good selection of wines and beers - domestic and international. The meal was very traditional Italian fare and delicious. We had one of the pizzas, it was different than the American pizza that we are accustomed to but very good. Our server was great and the decor is very rutic and comfortable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving, warm, cozy...italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Reminded us of our visit to a small restaurant in Rome. The aroma of spices, the warmth of the brick oven, which we sat near brought back memories of rome. The food is fine dining style, more price, flavor and plating, not the american chain restaurant portion sizes. We were happy with what we ordered but nothing to go back for in the food except the location. The cinnamon gelato accompanying the desert pies was definitely a new twist.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Laguna Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Laguna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Laguna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.