We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Coeliac's Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistango Restaurant

Bistango Restaurant
415 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10016-8104 (Manhattan)
+1 212-725-8484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistango Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 11,213 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Kilkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A Coeliac's Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Bistango deserves its top rating. We dined there twice and enjoyed superb meals. My wife is coeliac and was in paradise.
There is an excellent and varied choice of courses, all can be served gluten free and you can share many courses.
Wine was very expensive for very ordinary stuff. Didn't matter, we loved the place.
Be warned! You will probably need to book, particularly for more than two. It is a small place, but well worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    59
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our experience in Bistango was exceptional. Probably one if the best restaurants in the city, Bistango offers friendly service with outstanding cuisine. Try the calamari. We will be returning!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Would have been better without the flies!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place was a bit small and kind of old fashioned. I guess if you like that sought of restaurant this place is okay. I would not rank this place the best Italian restaurant in NYC. The waitress was quite beautiful which helps. But, that doesn't do much for the overall rating. Service was okay... perhaps a little on the slow side especially considering that we were the only ones there. The bread was not Italian. On the other hand the gluten free bread was good. The food was also good but I would have expected more on the menu. I would say that Bassos is a much better Italian restaurant. Unfortunately, they had a private party last night. I do not think that I will return to Bistango.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

They had a great menu for both vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Nice place to sit outside and people watch as well. Would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gluten Free Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Easy menu for Coeliacs to order off with the wait staff very knowledgeable. We were at ease knowing that we would not get sick from eating at their restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistango Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bistango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistango Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.