We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Parador Cafe

El Parador Cafe
325 E 34th St, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)
(212) 679-6812
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Parador Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,241 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: 6 train to Park Avenue/33rd Street, the M34 & M16 1st Avenue buses, and the 3rd Avenue bus.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My brother and I go often because it's the one of the rare mexican restaurants that has white table cloths. The chicken mole is excellent and big enough for 2 people. Guacamole is chunky and homemade. Salsa is served warm and spiced with chipotle and cinnamon. Margaritas are deadly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ridiculously expensive; poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I can't believe this restaurant has so many favorable reviews. It is ridiculously overpriced. The service could be better: we were ignored when we entered; had to flag down a waiter (they were talking amongst themselves and on the phone) to take our order; and our waiter removed the chips and salsa from our table when he brought the entrees (I took them off his tray and restored them to the table).

The pan-fried chorizo appetizer was chewy and laughably paltry, especially at $10. Braised shrimp in salsa verde was as unappetizing as it looks in the photo. You get six, medium-sized, tough shrimp; a small portion of bland, mushy rice; and unfresh-looking green sauce for $25. Idiotic. The combination plate of an enchilada, chile relleno, and a burrito was more plentiful but institutional. The accompanying beans were bland. A side order of roasted beets ($8) was cooked almost beyond recognition.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We found this place using TA and the Michelin guide while visiting NYC. The restaurant is very nice and so was the food. Staff was very helpful as we were 1/2h late for our booking (NYC traffic anyone ?????) and still manage to find us table.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Good Mexican restaurant in Murray hill district. Quality food. Nice service, and fine margarita drinks. Somewhat pricey considering US tipping policy. Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. The place has a great Spanish type atmosphere. The waiters were extremely friendly and helpful with the menu. The margaritas were awesome. The chips and two dips were very flavorful and I had shrimp fajitas which were very tasty. I would suggest a reservation as they get really busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Parador Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Parador Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Parador Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.