We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and fantastic steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keens Steakhouse

Keens Steakhouse
72 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)
+12129473636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Keens Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 5th and 6th
Transit: N, R F, Q, B, D A,C,E & 1,2,3,9 on 34th Street
Description: Keens Steakhouse, a classic New York chophouse, was already famous for its steaks and chops at the turn of the century. Founded in 1885, Keens has 90,000 clay pipes that line the ceilings – pipes once smoked by customers after dinner. Today Keens legendary mutton chops and dry aged prime steaks are still without equal in the city.
Alresford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and fantastic steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Booked via open table before we went to NYC based on reviews here and wow we were not disappointed. Great atmosphere with lovely bar area for pre dinner drinks. All our steaks were cooked to perfection and desserts were great too. The best steakhouse we have visited.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,671
    674
    168
    55
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT T BONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I targetted this restaurant from reading the reviews and we were not disappointed, we took a chance without a booking and waited for 30 minutes to be seated, not a problem as bar was bustling with atmosphere. Trouble was we had walked for miles this day and needed a seat but 2 very noce people let us sit next to them on a table even though it was a business meeting. Would recommend you book this place we didnt get there until 8pm and it was mental but it was quieter by the time we left at 10pm. Great service, great food, the YUKON GOLD MASH is to die for. It wasn't cheap but I knew that but worth every penny as the service and quality of evrything was exceptional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the Better Places for Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Chose Keen's on TA recommendations and was not disappointed. Ate here on a Saturday with my cousin before a show. Started with a couple of excellent Bloody Mary's. Nice and spicy (but not over the top) with some chopped Jalapeno and Balsamic. Really good crusty rolls and a relish plate was brought to the table- Nice touch with an excellent half-sour pickle in the the relish tray.
I had the Oysters Rock while my cousin had the Caesar Salad. Both of which were good. Nice to see anchovies on the Caesar. I am a big fan of Oysters Rock and sad to say I was a little disappointed. True most restaurants have there own version but Keen's was a little to far from traditional for me. I like the Anise flavor in the spinach and Hollandaise on top. This version was weak on the Pernod and the spinach was almost pureed (i think there was cheese in there also) and no Hollandaise.
For entrees we had the Porterhouse for two, Med Rare. With sides of creamed spinach, hand cut fries and a side of Béarnaise Sauce. The steak was outstanding! Tender, Flavorful and cooked perfectly as were the fries. Creamed spinach was also very good. Béarnaise was good but could have had a little more spice such as lemon and salt.
For dessert we had Espresso, coffee and Key lime pie. Was a little disappointed in the Key Lime as it looked and tasted like it was one of those mass produced versions. At least it wasn't green. Not that it was bad but was expecting a little more.
Service was outstanding. Courses were timed perfectly and they were on top of everything. Overall Keen's is a great place for steak and lives up to it's reputation. A little more attention to some of the other things would rate it 5 stars. I would go back again- the things they did well were that good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great steaks. Horrible service, atmosphere and experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were really excited at trying a great steak restaurant in New York and Keen’s came highly recommended.

Our schedule was quite relaxed so we dropped in one evening and asked if there was a table for 2. The gentleman we spoke to was fairly blunt and unfriendly and said the next table would be in 90 minutes at 10pm. After a bit of thought we said fine and said we’d take the 10pm booking. He seemed a little shocked as if she thought that would put us off. In retrospect as we arrived at 9.50 to a half empty restaurant I did almost wonder if we weren’t welcome. When we returned, he didn’t recognise us and rudely said ‘I can’t hear you’ when we asked if the table was ready so did give the impression that he thought two fairly young women who were dressed smart casual had wandered here by mistake for burger and fries! So needless to say we didn’t feel too welcome.

The restaurant décor is quaint but very dark and oppressive and isn’t relaxed at all. Despite a half empty restaurant we were seated next to a table of four very loud and drunk businessmen and another couple with the tables with barely enough room to get in or out without a waiter moving a table. The restaurant seemed to be mainly frequented by large groups of businessmen swearing and shouting loudly with more than a few offensive remarks. At restaurants in the UK they would have been discreetly asked to keep the noise down. However, the general atmosphere at Keen’s was that of a gentleman’s club so we felt out of place and unwelcome and that the behaviour of the large groups of men was accepted as they were no doubt spending large sums of money on company expenses thus resulting in larger tips.

Saying all this the food was superb and the filet was probably the second best I’ve ever had in my life. Sadly the whole experience was so bad that I wouldn’t dream of ever going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great NYC steak house.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife recently took me to Keens for dinner for my birthday. Keens has great history since its probably the oldest steak house in New York.
The decor is dated but its part of the charm. The food however is excellent. Terrific cocktails and wine including one of the best Bloody Mary's.
We'll definitely be going back there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keens Steakhouse also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Keens Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keens Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.