We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional & World-Class Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Yasuda

Sushi Yasuda
204 E 43rd St, New York City, NY 10017-4713 (Midtown)
212-972-1001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #205 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Traditional & World-Class Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've dined at many renowned sushi restaurants in NYC and Sushi Yasuda is one of them. What stands out to me with respect to Sushi Yasuda is its overall traditional and minimal approach.

There is a strong attention to detail and a clean feel to everything--from the website, to the bamboo interior, to the sushi presentation itself. We had the omakase and it certainly met our high expectations. I'd like to go here again soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    72
    29
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sushi Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This wonderful place is intimate, refine, simple, elegant and the sushi is simply wonderful. Try to chefs selection for a real treat...including oysters when we visited. Expensive and worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sushi Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wherever I travel I must always find a great sushi place. After researching…this gem stood out far above all the rest. This was the most traditional Japanese sushi experience I have ever encountered. I highly recommend dining at the sushi bar.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Friday Night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This was chosen by a simple search for sushi restaurants. Ear the hotel that we booked. Reviews recommended booking at least 2 weeks in advance which we did in order to to sit at the sushi bar and have our own personal sushi chef.

The chef asked what we liked and we simply left it to him. I'm not sure how many courses he served but it must have been between 15 and 20 ranging from tuna and salmon to Sal and sea urchin. The restaurant has simple surroundings and drinks are either beer or saki.

We ate until the chef realised we could eat no more. This type of meal is expensive but the service, quality of food and atmosphere were outstanding. If you're in NYC and like sushi then book this place well in advance. Awesome

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“When I see local Japanese in a Japanese restaurant , I realize I'm in the right place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Sushi Yasuda seems very understated when it comes to the decor and the environment. But once you have tasted the food, that's what gets you quickly to change your attitude.WOW!
Don't go there expecting Zuma or Nobu cuisine, go there for authentic sushi and Sashimi.
Exceptional service from helpful staff, and best part is they do not expect any extra gratuity on the bill....love it!! Who else does that in the US, let alone NYC....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Yasuda also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sushi Yasuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Yasuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.