We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Club Without Being a Club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Round Table Room at Algonquin Hotel

Round Table Room at Algonquin Hotel
59 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(888) 304-2047
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Round Table Room at Algonquin Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,005 of 11,577 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Club Without Being a Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Distinguished venue, well-maintained, comfortable, a place to entertain business associates without being a club. Quiet. Pricey, even by New York City standards, but worth it to build good will. Large drinks, decent wine list without being pretentious. If it were just me and pals, I'd pick someplace cheaper, but good for VIPs.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Snotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My family and I go to The City at the beginning of December every year for the past 10 years and it is our tradition to stop at The Algonquin for dinner, or at least a drink. This past weekend we went and it was quite disappointing. For the first time in ten years, the servers were extremely rude and snotty. We felt rushed and if I am paying $15 for a glass of wine, I want to relax with it. Also, we always come to see Matilda the cat who hangs around the entrance to the hotel. It's our favorite way to end our day. This year we were informed that she is no longer downstairs at night. I really wish that had been posted somewhere on their website. Perhaps we would not have dashed the 7 blocks from where we were having dinner to grab a drink there before we had to meet our bus if we had known what a disappointment this was going to be.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This restaurant served food that seemed like it had been sitting around for hours. It was a real disappointment and too expensive for the quality served.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful,especially for out of towners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Had drinks in the Algonquin lobby . It is a comfortable,classy quiet room . Then we moved to a table at the round table restaurant ..really just an extension of the lobby. It was quiet...unusual for a new York restaurant .delightful

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice pre Theater dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband had the price fix dinner and I just an entree. There was plenty as we shared the soup - a delicious bisque, and the dessert- a chocolate mousse.
A bit on the expensive side - as can be expected in NYC. Nice decor good service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Round Table Room at Algonquin Hotel also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Round Table Room at Algonquin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Table Room at Algonquin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.